Flipping the cam virtually

You can post your wishes for new features in future program versions here.

Postby hal » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:26 pm

First problems with new "CameraRotation" function.

When I try to calibrate my camera, I must to erase many dark areas into my camera view. But this action seems impossible!
See the image (hey, don't care about the dark background, it is only the best way to show the white wrong eraser signs):
EDIT: Problem already solved. Please read the messages here below.

MatM_ViewFlipped_EraserProblem_01.jpg

The eraser work "multiplied"??? and the mouse pointer create three "erase" areas in three different part of the screen. Please note that the eraser seems to cover only one line on two.
In the image below you can see an other problem. When I brush the eraser, the position of the cursor is wrong in relation what I see in the image:
EDIT: Problem already solved. Please read the messages here below.

MatM_ViewFlipped_EraserProblem_02.jpg

Seems that the distance (between cursor and the erase sign) encrease in relation of the distance from the upper edge of the camera view (a bug?)
EDIT: Problem already solved. Please read the messages here below.

So, I've tried to save the camview and edit it into PhotpShop, just to try if the calibration can be done with a "clean" view of the markers.
But you can see what happens:

MatM_ViewFlipped_EraserProblem_03.jpg

The "CameraRotation" is set to "-1" but the software get an error.

It is only my problem?

Bye,
Mattia
PC: DELL M90, Intel T7200, 4 Gb Ram, nVidia Quadro 3500FX.
SO: Win 7 64Bit.
CAMs: USB CCD Color (1024x768, 30 fps) & Canon EOS 1000D.
LENS: 12 mm & VariFocal 3,5-8 mm.
PROJECTOR: ACER K11 & DELL M110.
LASERS: 5mW and 16 mW.
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby WalterMo » Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:04 pm

Hi Mattia,
I have just made some first tests with this new feature. There were no problems with calibration or scanning. Only the framerate dropped from 15fps to 12fps at a resolution of 960x720 pixels with the Logitech Pro9000.
The calibration corner was the „old & normal“ one. The columns of the calibration points are convexly curved, but this is due to the zoom lens distortion and will be corrected by DAVID.

Walter
Attachments
Calibration 90° flipped.jpg
Calibration successfully done
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby MagWeb » Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:30 pm

Hi,

I checked the Pro 9000 and the DAVID cam at Win XP: Eraser and calibration work without a problem at my system.
Ohoops - wasn´t WIN 7 released ? :mrgreen:

I opened an image (Simon´s calib image of the SL serie) rotion mode activated using the image grabber:
The image is strechted horizontal and DAVID crashes here too...

My pattern 4:3 was compressed in Y axis- therefore its distance in y in the calibpoints.dat is 37,5. Mattia, for you minished the x and z distance to 30 now and used my 37.5 distance in y : that´s a bit confusing... Better to base on the original file (distance of 60 in all dimensions). But as Walter showed ,this one fits quite good into a rotated view...

Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2481
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Sven » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:24 am

Hi,
Thanks for your reports... I will try to fix these things.
Until then, as a workaround:
1. Set rotation in Advanced Settings as you need it
2. Close DAVID
3. If you have problems with the Eraser, as Mattia described, delete the file mask.bmp. (It contains the eraser mask, possible in wrong orientation).
4. Restart DAVID
5. If you still have a problem, let me know! :-)
Sven
User avatar
Sven
Administrator
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby hal » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:30 am

Hi,

I've successfully calibrate the camera deleting the "mask.bmp" from David folder: now the eraser works as usually, in other works, perfectly. Thanks Sven! :D
My Calibpoints works correctly and David match they with the new .dat file:

MatM_CalibPoints_Flipped _View.jpg

I've scanned the empty corner and the scan of the panels coincide correctly with the grid.

BUT: as Gunter underline, the fps counter go down to 15 fps, on my CCD 1024x768 Usb color camera, too. :(
This don't change if I use the "Reduce Display Frequency" function: David is slow.

So, problems to solve:
- If "Flipped" David is slow;
- Grabbed images (I think also the grabbed videos...) are shown in the wrong way.

I hope that Master Wizard Sven can do the magic again :wink:

Bye,
Mattia
PC: DELL M90, Intel T7200, 4 Gb Ram, nVidia Quadro 3500FX.
SO: Win 7 64Bit.
CAMs: USB CCD Color (1024x768, 30 fps) & Canon EOS 1000D.
LENS: 12 mm & VariFocal 3,5-8 mm.
PROJECTOR: ACER K11 & DELL M110.
LASERS: 5mW and 16 mW.
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby WalterMo » Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:57 pm

This shepherd's pipe is a typical object for scanning when the camera is rotated by 90°. It's a souvenir from the former Yugoslavia. Carved of wood and 33 cm long.
I had used my biggest calibration corner with a scale of 99mm. The camera was the modified Pro9000 with a resolution of 720x960 pixels @ 12fps.

Thanks to Sven for programming this new feature. :D

Walter
Attachments
Flöte.jpg
Shepherds's pipe from Yugoslavia. Without and with texture.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby MagWeb » Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:23 pm

Hi Walter,

we had almost the same pipe from Istria - nice scan!

BTW: I got the 12mm and 16mm optics from Pollin for my modified Pro 9000. The 12mm is less quality (plastic housing) . The 16 mm is adequate to your zoom optic, but comes with a fixed iris . Using this one I get nearly vertical, linear stripes in the scanresult scanning the corner. I´m quite satisfied with the results using the 16mm optics.

Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2481
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Sven » Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:16 am

A new beta version with some fixes concerning camera image rotation is available here:
http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... _beta3.zip :D

I am thinking, should this rotate feature stay hidden in the Advanced Settings? Shouldn't it be visible for everyone to see, e.g. directly below camera / format selection? Would that help or confuse beginners? What do you think? :D
User avatar
Sven
Administrator
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Sven » Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:26 am

... but I fear, since the rotation is supposed to work with ALL camera models, DAVID will have to do it on the CPU, so we can't avoid the higher CPU load...
User avatar
Sven
Administrator
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby MagWeb » Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:53 am

Hi Sven,

special thanks for this upgrade.

My opinion concerning your question, about where to put the rotation option:
The advanced settings dialog grows and grows... (I do not intend to have less options - you know - so thanks, for making it grow)
But, if there ´s a chance to put some options onto the direct GUI, I would do it if that option is quite intuitive and only a true/false without a need to define a value . I think this special option is very easy to understand, even for a new user of DAVID, and the effect is visible directly.

Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2481
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Postby hal » Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:06 pm

Hi Sven,

I'm with Gunter.
The "Rotate Camera" function, accessible from the GUI, is a good thing.
Other things that can be useful into the graphic interface are, in my opinion:
- AllowPointsBehindPlanes;
- MaxLineWidth;
- MinLineIntegral.

These last two aren't "True" or "False", but can be showed as two cursors on a graduated scale (something like the two gradient bar in the top of the "Depth View" windows).
But probably these things needs more space into the David palette, so the GUI must be re-thought. :roll:

Bye, Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Khalid Khattak » Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:39 pm

Sven I agree with Mattia and Gunter.. You can have a separate drop-down-list from where you can select the above options.. There we can keep 'Default Settings' for beginners..
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Sven » Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:10 pm

Thank you Gunter, Mattia and Khalid, for your opinions. I agree, and Simon too. :D

http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... _beta4.zip
There is a first version with some small buttons to set the rotation. I'm sure it's intuitive. Also we were able to improve performance (CPU load) for rotation, although it's still slower than without rotation.

Mattia, about the other options that you suggested, we would like to keep them in the Advanced Settings for now.

Bye
Sven
User avatar
Sven
Administrator
 
Posts: 1435
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Khalid Khattak » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:04 pm

Thank You Sven and Simon :)... I will shortly download the beta version in the coming weekend i will show some results...
You are Genius :)
Regards
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

Re: Flipping the cam virtually

Postby Khalid Khattak » Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:11 am

I have install the Beta2 of David and just check the orientation buttons... I have a question, when i set the Normal mode the camera window use the total screen of monitor but when i flip the camera window become slim!!!..

What is the advantage then... do we have to change the calibration marker or what?

PS:
I see the Walter PIPE, In normal panels (No flip) this Pipe appears in the camera window..The same Pipe will appear in the camera window if the camera view is flipped...then what problem Walter was facing in laser scanning the same pipe in Normal Mode and what advantage He got in scanning the pipe in FLIP mode? :?
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

PreviousNext

Return to Feature Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests