Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:26 pm

Hello
I'm installing David on a new PC : Asus, Windows7, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 -3610QM CPU@2.30Ghz, 8GB Ram, 64bit;
as far as I can see David runs, I tried chape fusuion and that works... but I cannot have contact with the David Cam-1-M
(cleanedup and reinstalled... notting helps)
I always recieve the message of Error (see attatchment)
(I've no idea where and under witch topic to find an answere for this)
so what to do ???

L.J.P.S
Attachments
errorDavid.jpg
errorDavid.jpg (14.77 KiB) Viewed 4182 times
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby WalterMo » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:01 pm

Let's look on the error messages. If a hook is set like on my screen shot it's really not possible to work with the cam. Maybe it is the reason?
Attachments
Trigger set.jpg
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:38 pm

Walter
this I already controled (because I had this once on the other PC)
(all the usb ports are usb3)
(what is the recomended driver for the David USB-CCD...64b??)
but I still have to test it with the Logitech Webcam pro 9000

thanks
Luc
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby WalterMo » Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:26 am

Luc, I am also using the DAVID Cam-1-M at Win7 64 bit and it works fine. But only if I use one of the three USB 2.0 ports. My Notebook also has one USB 3.0 port. Connecting the cam to this port causes troubles, the camera frames are displayed jerkingly, sometimes like frozen. Mans not usable at all!

The camera driver that I had used here is version 2.1.5.616.

A bit later:
I just reinstalled the recommended driver from here:
https://ssl.david-vision-systems.de/sho ... ubgjaqu811

….and found the same version as mentioned above. And it also doesn't work at USB 3.0. But my Pro9000 also doesn't work at the USB 3.0 port. So it's a computer problem (in my case).

Walter
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:36 pm

Walter,
thank you, this is a good help and real support because I was turning all things upside down, now I have a direction to follow.
I will first try that other download and then I will try to install David on a portable that has W7 , 64bit and USB2 ports (in the next weeks).
I donn't know if my Asus is one of the most recent productions but it has only usb 3.0 and no longer a combination of usb 2 and 3 ports.
But if it turns out to be a computer problem: does that means it is only due to the usb 3 ( and the lack of usb 2 on newer PC-productions)
what answers can give David to this for the near future?
thanks
Luc
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby WalterMo » Sun Dec 23, 2012 8:43 am

Luc,
normally USB 3.0 ports should be downwards compatible so that no problem with DAVID USB 2.0 cameras occurs.
You mentioned above a Logitech Pro9000. Does it work?

A question to other guys: Do you have problems connecting a DAVID CCD cam to an USB 3.0 port?

Walter
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:19 pm

Walter
I tested the Logitech Pro9000 and it dont work neither
(for both cam the status in the cofiguration screen is "corect installed" but there is no way to get contact with the cams)
so if its a question of downwards compatibility could it be solved with the correct drivers for this PC
till now I only have following reference
http://superuser.com/questions/482179/u ... -0-devices

Luc
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:52 pm

hello
here I'm again with my problems to run David on a new PC
this weekend I had help to check the installations , we controled everything and installed the last new drivers for the Usb ports
and obtained good installation of the logitech pro 9000 and the david-cam-1
but in the David 3 we had no progress: no contact with the cams
and in the David 2.6 version I obtained good contact with the Logitech and in this version it works with this cam but not with the david-cam-1, strange ?
(we controled the whole setup on another portable (64bit) but still with usb2ports..........and here all works fine)
if there are Davidians who had similar problems, it should be great help to know how they solved it
regards
Luc
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby Sven » Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:03 am

Hello Luc,

Yes it seems some camera drivers need updates for some USB 3.0 ports.

DAVID_CAM_1:
Last week we have updated the drivers. Have you tried the latest 2.3.16.757 from here:
http://www.david-laserscanner.com/?section=Downloads

Logitech:
They update their drivers too. Latest from Logitech Website seems to be "lws251.exe".
Also it seems that Microsoft has even newer drivers which Windows (we have seen it in Windows 8) installs automatically. Please try that too.

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: how to install David correctly on a new 64bit PC

Postby L.J.P.S » Tue Jan 08, 2013 5:04 pm

hello Sven
some feedback
the driver for David-Cam-1 version 2.3.16.757 was the one that was installed, I reinstalled
but still no succes, it's from 2012-05-03 is there no newer version ???
I installed the latest driver for Logitech Pro9000: "lws251.exe" and this works
I'v contact with the cam in David (it seams good but I still have to test more)
I didnot yet looked for Microsoft Windows7 newer drivers
regards
Luc
L.J.P.S
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Belgium


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron