Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Canon or Nikon?

Canon or Nikon?

Postby Alyx » Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:52 pm

Hello davidians,
i wonder which camera is better than my logitech c525?

Nikon D3100/3200 or Canon 550d/600d Canon 1100d?

who was able to test all of those and is there any difference?
Acer i7 3610qm GF GT650M 2gb 16gb ram
Alyx
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:39 am

Postby hal » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:19 pm

Hello
well, till now, Canon machine were tested and about some models u can find in the forum some reports and experiences.
Canon supported bu David. But take in mind that till now, you can use the models that support the liveview mode, coz autoshooting function (at full resolution of camera) not available now, but in the future it will be.

I succesfully use an EOS 1000D, that also is quite cheap.

Regards
Mattia
PC: DELL Alienware 17, Intel I7-4710MQ, 32 Gb Ram, AMD Radeon R9 M290X 4GB.
SO: Win 8.1 64Bit.
CAMs: USB 3.0 CMOS B/N (1280x960, 60 fps).
LENS: 12 mm.
PROJECTOR: DAVID SLS1 ACER K11.
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Canon or Nikon?

Postby Alyx » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:39 pm

well the point is that Nikon D3100/3200 got a live view as written and i got good optics from my previuos Nikon, but couldnt find anyone using them, only Canons, that's the question, will be that a waste of money for Nikon or better to buy Canon 600d?
Also, you are using ccd camera, is it better to use DSLR camera or something like Point Grey fela3 for fester/more precisive scan?
Acer i7 3610qm GF GT650M 2gb 16gb ram
Alyx
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:39 am

Postby hal » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Well, sincerly I can't answer about Nikon. But I'm scared that David support only Canon. I suggest to write directly to Sven or Simon via mail, just asking if the liveviewmode is ready for Nikon too.

about ur last question: if we can use a (future) autoshooting feature of Davis with our photocameras, we will have the access to the full resolution of camera (ok, we need lot of Ram available). So this will be the solution that get the bigger amount of 3D points (search on the forum some test done by Gunter, with a manual shooting.

CCD camera (and now new CMOS that are very good) allow u to scan at good resolution and fast. Consider 1024x768 a resolution enough for so many prjects. High resolution cameras have lower fps. New USB 3 cameras are good, but still little expensive. Also if I'm not wrong... soem Point Grey cameras don't work with 64 bit SO. But just check on the forum, about this.

As always, I don't suggest to spend big budgets for hi-resolution hardware, especially if don't already have good experience with David. Something like the SL Kit is perfect for lot of purposes. If u prefer to buy other harware, take in mind that the cost will be between 1000 and 2000 € in Europe.
Just to cut a little the budget, maybe the best choise is a good CMOS industrial camera.

Regards,
Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Canon or Nikon?

Postby danker1988 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:38 pm

Hello,

I am trying to use the same Nikon D3200 camera instead of the normal webcam, but I couldn't find any solution in connecting it to the software. I need to use a more professional camera because I need to scan something with the length of 1-1.5m. Is there any way to make it work?

Regards,
Dan
danker1988
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:02 pm


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron