Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

ReconstructMe Public Beta

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby MagWeb » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:37 am

Here´s a result of fusing 33 partial reconstructions fused in DAVID.
I had to do a very carefully cleaning of the raw data, for ReconstructMe in some cases adds a second skin with flipped normals. Seems this is caused by tracking errors and if it happens this results in holes or disturbed surfaces.
Cleaning was done in MeshMixer.

Gunter
Attachments
Car.jpg
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby hal » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:44 pm

That's exactly what I mean! :D
Good job Gunter! this could be the best basemesh to use for a more detailed process of scanning!

Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby moog » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:47 am

Can you please tell me if the kinect sensor needs a power supply, or is the sensor unit and it's USB cable enough equipment to try this software.
Thanks...
LC532-5-3-F(16x65), BenQ PB8220 DLP Projector, logitec quickcam PRO9001, Casio EX-FH20
moog
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:54 am
Location: Australia, Gold Coast

Postby hal » Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:25 am

Hi moog,

Kinect need the power supply, that is included in the box. The only think that maybe you would need, will be a longer USB cable if you need to move around a lot with your device.

Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby MagWeb » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:32 am

As far as I know:

If you buy a X-box+Kinect bundle, the needed power-adapter is NOT included! You´ve to go for the "only Kinect" package.
AFAIK: Assus Xtion does not need extra power. Here it is powered by USB.

Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby hal » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:43 pm

Oops ok, sorry, with XBOX Gunter is right. I mean the Kinect solo pack.

Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby r3volution » Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:11 am

I am currently working on my final capstone project to graduate. This capstone project will be showcased at the end of the school year at the annual capstone fair on April 27th.

The goal of my project is to build a stage for an object or person, where a head to toe 3D scan can be captured by, in this case, Microsoft Kinects and then optimized by open sourced software and transmitted to a 3D printer (e.g. Makerbot Replicator, Ultimaker, etc.) where it will be printed into a full 3D model. Originally the plan was to use 3 kinects to capture point clouds and then mesh them together and clean in up in Blender before printing. With Reconstructme, there is the possibility of being able to skip the point cloud stage and capture a real-time 3d model. I was consider putting the Kinect on a radial dolly track to move the Kinect around a full 360 degrees.

I understand that you can't use the automatic volume stitching to get a full scan of a person, but can't you use Reconstructme with Meshlab and use the volumes capture by Reconstructme and overlap those volumes and use Meshlab's alignment system to connect them creating a full human scan?
r3volution
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:03 am

Re:

Postby Gil » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:34 am

hal wrote:...Try and report (especially the hardware specs), thanks.


Self portrait
(quick fast scan)
Laptop i7 - GPU NVidia Geforge 540m with 2 GB mem ded

Gil.jpg
Gil
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 5:12 pm

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby NextDesign » Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:06 am

It would be interesting to see a comparison between ReconstructMe and the open source implementation of KinectFusion: http://pointclouds.org/news/kinectfusio ... ource.html

I'm just about to start a new project, replicating the Kinect's technique, but with much higher resolution (5616 × 3744) with full diffuse and specular texture maps. Should be fun.
NextDesign
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:32 am

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby NextDesign » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:13 am

NextDesign wrote:I'm just about to start a new project, replicating the Kinect's technique, but with much higher resolution (5616 × 3744) with full diffuse and specular texture maps. Should be fun.

Sorry, I should have said that it will use a technique similar to the Kinect's, not the same. :)
NextDesign
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:32 am

Re: ReconstructMe Public Beta

Postby hunkatibor2 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:55 am

Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Previous

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron