Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Logitech C615 with new lens

Which camera works? Where can you buy an adequate laser? And more...

Postby hal » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:18 am

Hello Chris,
thanks for sharing. I've linked your usefull file to the "Useful Hardware" page.
I guess it would be good for many davidians ;-)

Thanks and best regards,
Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby netmares » Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:46 pm

Hi again,

I am working now with the c615 camera. I am trying to take images programmatically. Does somebody knows which are the effective pixels of c615 camera cmos sensor? And which is the max. resolution image that I am able to acquire (with no interpolation)? (I have read in Logitech specifications that it gives up to 8Mp, but I suppose is by interpolating somehow).

Thanks. Regards,
Miguel.
netmares
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby WalterMo » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:03 pm

You can work with DAVID with these pixel sizes without interpolation, means at maximal 2 Mp.
If you like to extend the USB cable, so use a repeater cable (active extender).

Walter
Attachments
Pixelformate C615.jpg
Pixelformate C615.jpg (32.18 KiB) Viewed 8723 times
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby gkrywusha » Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:15 am

Hi Walter,

About to try this mod out as I'm using a chinese camera (though with the nice lens from B&H) but finding minimal resolution choices and extremely slow scan speeds vs. my webcams.

Question I have is this... how does the IR cutoff filter factor into scanning? Do you need it and how hard is it to apply to this project?

I can get the rest of the parts locally but not that piece and wonder both in construction and final output how with/without it is affected. I'm not trying to grab color at this point.

Thanks so much in advance for your expertise.

Greg K.
gkrywusha
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby WalterMo » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:05 am

Greg, if you don't want to grab a color texture so you don't need an IR cut-off filter. A gray scale texture will work.
You can put this filter later on in front of the photo sensor. Unfortunately these filters are not cheap.

Here (July 17 th) you can see the differences between images made with and without an IR cut-off filter:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2069


Walter
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby gkrywusha » Wed Jun 18, 2014 7:41 pm

Thanks Walter,

Going to start the project then. Waiting on my cs/c mount adapters, but can start the disassembly now. Thanks again.

Greg K.
gkrywusha
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby gkrywusha » Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:49 am

Hi Walter,

Already finished the camera assembly and thanks for your input/advice. Camera works and lens really allows for clear focus.

Problem I'm having in David is that my scans have a light crosshatch texture or horizontal banding caused by frequency I believe. Which drivers do you recommend? I've tried the lastest logitech (251) as well as microsoft's generic one. Issue with the latter is stuck with 1/32 or 1/64 for exposure. The logitech allows for more options in setting exposure.

Is there a way to minimize noise or better adjust frequency? So close to getting this to work.

Thanks in advance,

Greg K.
gkrywusha
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby WalterMo » Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:54 am

Greg, good to hear of your progress.
The banding could be caused by interference between the screen refresh rate and the camera's exposure time. Best is you set the refresh rate to 60 Hertz and the camera to 1/30 sec or 1/60 sec.
http://wiki.david-3d.com/david3_user_ma ... ured_light

I prefer the Logitech driver. Mine is version 13.80.853.0.
My "standard" camera resolution is 800 x 600 @30 fps.

Walter

PS. Can you post a photo of your camera modification? Thanks.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby gkrywusha » Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:41 pm

Thanks, Walter!

I will make those changes and see how it goes. I'll put up a picture of the camera later today.

Thanks again.

Greg K.
gkrywusha
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby JDM Dyno » Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:48 pm

This is my version of C615 lens mod using original body but removed the standard lens, I made 3D printed part and glued it on, made it a good fit to the C mount lens so that screwing it in was a tight fit and made its own thread :)

only had to de-solder the original lens, blacked out the led and opened up the front hole, not sure if I needed to do the last bit but did it just so I did not have to take it apart again.

also printed mount/slide and a lens cap all done in Via CAD 3D.
Attachments
DSC_00472.jpg
Camera's: 2 x DFK 42BUC03 Duel Camera,
c615 modified with Computar megapixel lens
lenses: 2 x Pentax 12mm, 2 x Computar 8mm
Optoma ML300 Projector
Turntable

www.jdm-dyno.co.uk
User avatar
JDM Dyno
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 9:32 pm
Location: England

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby Mal3D » Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:49 pm

IMG_0901.JPG
macdaddyjaz wrote:Hi again - as requested here is my model.

To reiterate - the c-mount ring is a bit of a snug fit and some of the screw turrets were a bit weak. Apart from that, works a treat.

Chris


Hi Chris,

I modified your design slightly to use different screws and change the back, so I didn't have to cut the usb cable. This made for a upside down design that I used in making an angle bracket for. I was wondering if I could post this remix on Thingiverse with your permission along with links to your posts and design.

Thanks,
Malcom
Mal3D
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 1:59 pm

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby mathers3000 » Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:25 pm

Questions about the C615 mod.

I do not know know circuit boards. I just removed the lens and the casing by "breaking" it off. Is the De Solder Necessary?
c615.jpg
De solder Necessary?


I did not cut the ground wire. Does the ground screw hole need to be used when I put it back together?
nc615.jpg


I am using Malcom's re-design
Thanks also to Chris and Walter
PC: Laptop/Notebook with Intel Duo Core T7400 @ 2.16 GHz, 2.5GB of RAM
CAMERA: Logitech Pro 9000 Webcam
LASERS: 5mW Red Focusable Deal Extreme
mathers3000
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:44 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby WalterMo » Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:51 am

It's not necessary to desolder the 2 pins.
Pay attention that no solder connects other conductor paths from these pins or these pins together!
A tip: For desoldering I am using the (cheap) desoldering wick.

Regarding your grounding question: No, you don't have to use this hole, e.g. to put a screw inside. But I am using this hole to fix the board.

Walter

Edit: You also have removed the black plastic surrounding the photo sensor. Why? It can be the holder for the IR cut-off filter.
Attachments
BoardLogitechC616.jpg
Camera board. Front side.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby mathers3000 » Sun Mar 13, 2016 12:13 am

No ir for this camera, maybe add it later. I will use the c600 setup for color.
Walter's c600 guide ( viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3727 )
Thanks for the detailed guide.

These web Cams are currently very cheap.
C615 new on ebay $32
C600 new on ebay $20
PC: Laptop/Notebook with Intel Duo Core T7400 @ 2.16 GHz, 2.5GB of RAM
CAMERA: Logitech Pro 9000 Webcam
LASERS: 5mW Red Focusable Deal Extreme
mathers3000
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:44 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Logitech C615 with new lens

Postby macdaddyjaz » Thu Jul 07, 2016 4:06 pm

Can anyone suggest any reason why these cameras will not work with the up and coming dual camera setup in the latest David? I will definitely invest if I can make another budget cam.
-Optoma EP1690 - 1280 x 768
-Canon 40D
-Macbook pro on bootcamp
-Home made adjustable rig mounted on a telescope tripod
User avatar
macdaddyjaz
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:14 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Laser and Camera Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest