Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Which camera works? Where can you buy an adequate laser? And more...

Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Sven » Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:03 pm

Dear Logitech webcam users,

For use with DAVID, unfortunately the latest webcam driver from Logitech is not ideal (version 2.x). (Eliscio already complained about it some time ago.)

I recommend to use an older version (1.x), which you can get e.g. here: http://driverscollection.com/?file_cid= ... 322272b704 EDIT: Don't use this. See below.
You can also find that version on your original DAVID USB Flash Drive.
(If you want to downgrade, you will have to perform a complete uninstallation of the newer version first! Go to Windows Control Panel, Software...)

OLD VERSION (GOOD): :D
Version is 1.x, after installation it is shown as version 12.x (or 11.x).
Everything works fine, except:
- you should install driver only, not the other options (at least I personally find Logitech Vid and Logitech Software etc. annoying)
- you must switch off "RightLight" for scanning.
- you should not use 640x480 because it creates waves in the scan. (EDIT: See here). Better: 800x600.

The Camera Settings window looks like this:
12.png
Camera Settings window in "good" camera driver version


NEW VERSION (BAD): :(
Version 2.x, after installation it is shown as version 13.x.
Same minor issues as above, but additional problems:
- Camera Settings window has fewer options and does not show any values, only sliders :(
- Camera Settings window behaves differently so that DAVID 2 won't remember the settings conveniently. :( [Workaround: Change settings, click OK, immediately open the same settings window again, and close it with OK again.] DAVID 3: Not a problem.

It looks like this:
13.png
Camera Settings window in "bad" camera driver version


Please let me know if you make a different experience!

Sven

EDIT 2010-11-02: I have extracted a DRIVERS-ONLY installation of the recommended Logitech driver version. It's great! Exactly what you need, not more, not less. :D
32-bit systems: http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... 1110.0.zip
64-bit systems: http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... 1110.0.zip
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby 49rSteve » Sat Sep 18, 2010 11:45 pm

Sven:
Thanks for the info. The one you linked does not run on my system - W7 64bit OS. However, here's a link at same site to select your OS and the older drivers.
http://driverscollection.com/?V=Logitech&S=41
Just finished downoading and installed the W7 64bit software (lws110_x64.exe). Your correct, just checked out the controls and they are much better. The old sliders are - smooth! Don't know why they would change them to stepped like sliders.
Anyway - thanks.
Steve
49rSteve
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby volume » Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:01 pm

Hi, I wonder if the old drivers work in Windows 7
volume
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:35 pm

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Sven » Mon Sep 27, 2010 2:43 pm

Yes they do. I am running Windows 7.
If you have the 64-bit version of Windows, you will need to use the 64-bit driver version like Steve said above.
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Khalid Khattak » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:07 pm

Hi sven
Today i disconnected my settings from Windows XP and connected to my 64 bit windows 7 on laptop.. I have downloaded and installed your provided version of Logitech driver and did a repetition scan( i already took the reference scan on 32bit system)..
Following are the results, i am also getting grid..what to do?
I am using David 2.5.5?
Attachments
settings.jpg
grid.jpg
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Sven » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:17 pm

Hello Khalid,

Please try to scan at 800*600 with 15 FPS. I also had some problems at 960*720.

You should also use DAVID 2.6.1, although there should be no difference about the grid problem.

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Khalid Khattak » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:37 pm

Hi Sven,
Thanks for the response... I normally use 960 x 720 that gives me good compromise between scan resolution and quality.. If i use 800 x 600 i will loose the details of my scans... We must seek some work-around of this problem...
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Sven » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:47 pm

So did 800*600@15FPS help against the grid?
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Khalid Khattak » Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:01 pm

Sven wrote:So did 800*600@15FPS help against the grid?

Hi sven,
Today i did some work on my controller board, tomorrow i will try using 800 x 600 resolution... Then i will tell you...
Regards
PC: Dell Inspiron i3, 2.27GHz,4GB RAM,64 bit windows 7
CAMERA:
David CCD Mono USB
LASER:
David 5mW Green line laser
PROJECTOR:
3D LED Mini Projector 250lumens, Native 1024x600
[b]http://free3dscans.blogspot.com/
Khalid Khattak
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:30 pm
Location: Pakistan

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby francesnnnnn » Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:23 am

i would have a try.
Adversity reveals genius; fortune conceals it.
francesnnnnn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:19 am

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby David Martin » Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:45 am

Has anyone experienced any issues with the 32 bit "driver only" zip file?

When I downloaded the driver I remember a dialouge box appearing stating "corrupted file", but only for a second or two. Being ignorant and impatient I went ahead and tried to open the zip file, my screen started flashing and opening a bunch of dialouge boxes. After rebooting I ran a virus scan and came up with nothing, I then deleted the driver zip file and re downloaded it and ran another virus scan. After a no virus result, I then tried to open the zip and the same flashing started again. After realizing my operating system had been compromised I decided to reformat the hard drive. My computer is back up and running and I would like to get my camera working with the old software. Anyone know what happened or how I can prevent it again? I'm running a 32 bit version of xp professional.

Thanks for any and all help,
David
David Martin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:18 am

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Sven » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:17 pm

Hello David,
That sounds very strange. I have just tried to download our "driver only" zip file and it works fine. Please try it again. I am sure your corruption/compromising of your system was not caused by our download. There seems to be some basic problem with your PC...
You CAN try other Logitech driver versions but I am sure that won't solve your problem...
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Borg » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:32 am

David,
I needed to download the old driver also. I called support at Logitech support and they told to go to the QuickCam® Communicate STX cam site. This web cam still has the old 12.X driver there for download.

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/435/352?WT.z_sp=Image

Click downloads under the large "QuickCam® Communicate STX". It will walk you through a series of questions such as your operating system, 32-bit or 64-bit, etc.

Hope this helps :)

-Steve
PC: ThinkPad Lenovo X200 Tablet, Intel Core 2 Duo CPU 1.86GHz,
3GB of RAM, 32 bit Windows Vista Ultimate
CAMERA: Logitech Pro 9000
LASERS: David 5mW focusable Green line laser
Borg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:20 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby Borg » Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:12 am

Hi Robot Forex,

Most people on this forum are using the Logitech Pro 9000. You can find out some good starter information by going to David WIKI at http://www.david-laserscanner.com/wiki/starter_help. Be sure to read the user manual. This will save you lots of undo frustration.

If you do choose to purchase the Logitech Pro 9000, be sure to load the older version driver as mention in the above posts by Sven and the rest of the knowledgeable people on this forum.

Best Regards,
Steve
PC: ThinkPad Lenovo X200 Tablet, Intel Core 2 Duo CPU 1.86GHz,
3GB of RAM, 32 bit Windows Vista Ultimate
CAMERA: Logitech Pro 9000
LASERS: David 5mW focusable Green line laser
Borg
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:20 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Warning about latest Logitech drivers

Postby David Martin » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:46 am

Wow 2 months really flew by fast! I finally have my scanner setup and V1.1 driver installed. I ended up using your link Steve, to logitechs website. I believe my problem earlier was due to not uninstalling the newer version driver before installing the driver in the link you provided Sven. I was unaware v2.X installed automatically, I realized it was installed after reading a the thread a little closer and going into control panel device drivers. Anyway, thanks for the help.
David Martin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:18 am

Next

Return to Laser and Camera Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests