Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Crashes and black textures

If you found a bug, please post it here and we will try to eleminate it as soon as possible.

Crashes and black textures

Postby Vito » Wed Mar 18, 2015 2:34 pm

Hello, I am a newbie, I have purchased DAVID SLS-2 and I am doing 3D scans of bones for my research. I am using Windows 7 x64. I am satisfied, although I have some problems that are probably due to bad calibration (in complex objects like crania it is very difficult to align all the scan, and a lot of work is required to recognize deformed areas). However the bug that I am reporting regards fusions and textures. I am fusing 30 scans of a humerus, and when the process is done (either at 500, 1000, or 2000), when I try to visualize the textures the program crashes. If I save before visualizing the textures, and then open the obj file, the program crashes again when I try to visualize the textures, or gives me all-black textures.
If I open the obj in meshlab, everything seems fine, the 3D reconstruction and textures are there. This reassures me a little bit, because those are kinda ancient bones and it would be impossible for me to go back and scan them again...
However, if I try to open the ply file, it tells me "error, unexpected eof", while the stl loads, but without textures.

What might it be? Is it a known issue? That happens in two different x64 windows7, a laptop and a desktop (both are powerful, especially the desktop which has a recent i5 and a R9 290x)

Thanks!!
Vito

Re: Crashes and black textures

Postby Vito » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:05 am