Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

[HelpNeeded] Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

If you found a bug, please post it here and we will try to eleminate it as soon as possible.

[HelpNeeded] Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby litosaragon » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:34 am

Hello,

I've a USB licensed of DAVID working in previous versions in a W8 64bit PC Framework 4.5 , yesterday i updated it with the new version 3.9.0.4072, and then when i start DAVID 3 64bits crash.

When i start David3 in NOT 64 bit mode works perfectly.

What is it happen?

Thanks in advance.

Carlos
litosaragon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:54 am

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby Sven » Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:35 pm

Hi Carlos,

Sorry to hear that. I have no real idea, it does work on all other computers we have tested.
It might help to install the C++ Redistributables 2012 from Microsoft:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Please try and let us know if it helps.

For now, you can work with the previous version, 3.8.1. But that's not a good solution...
http://downloads.david-3d.com/software/DAVID_Setup_3.8.1.3777.exe

Thanks
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby connygus » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:26 pm

Hi Sven
I have the same problem and your suggestion did not solve it.

Thanks Conny
connygus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby Sven » Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:48 am

Hmmm :(
Have you installed all Windows Updates (including .NET Framework Updates)?
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby connygus » Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:35 am

Hi Sven
The latest update I have done is Security update for Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5 on windows 8 (2013-08-17)

Thanks
Conny
connygus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby connygus » Sat Oct 05, 2013 8:42 pm

Hi again Sven

I tried to reinstall the new version but got an error message:
The setup files are corrupted. Please obtain a new copy of the program.

Thanks
Conny
connygus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby Sven » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:34 pm

I have tested, the files are OK. Please download them again.

What strange problems we have here... I'm sure we will solve them!

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby KopkoH » Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:03 am

Hi.
I have the same problem as Conny. On x64 windows 7 when i try install last version of David, i see next error:
"The setup files are corrupted. Please obtain a new copy of the program."
I try download installation file more 3 times. The error always present. :-(

P.S. Beta 2 (as zip archive) work fine. Final version as exe file don't want install :-(
KopkoH
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:55 am

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby Sven » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:39 am

Hi Conny,
Hi KopkoH,

Please try this. It's the same version as the official 3.9.0:
http://downloads.david-3d.com/software/DAVID_3.9.0.4072.zip

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby KopkoH » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:08 am

Hi Sven.
Thank you for zip version of David 3.9.0.4072.
David are working from zip version!
KopkoH
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:55 am

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby litosaragon » Wed Oct 16, 2013 6:50 pm

Hi Sven,

Sorry for the delay.

It didnt work any solution except use the previous version 3.8.1.3777 in the PC, i cannot downgrade the USB flash.

What can i do?
litosaragon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:54 am

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby BobGarrish » Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:31 pm

Same issue, along with another. I updated today, just got my SLS-1 in the mail, so I updated automatically on first run.

The 64 bit version crashes, and when it updated the USB it made a second shortcut: there is now a Start_DAVID3_64bit and a Start_DAVID3_x64. There's also Start_DAVID and Start_DAVID3 there, though they might have both been there at the start.

After three hours of trying, the SLS-1 also completely fails to calibrate. Earlier on it got to about 80% and now it doesn't even get past the first second or so. We followed the instructions, the camera view is always completely within the calibration corner, we've restarted the program, re-focused the camera and projector and fiddled with the sine waves 100x, etc. I did notice that the camera settings have various exposure and gain settings, which could be messing with things? I changed those all to default in case. Also noticed that sometimes the sine waves are clipped by the dashed line in the middle of the two blue ones?

This is an expensive item to be unreliable out of the box, and I can't run any other versions from the USB, so I hope there's a fix or I really overlooked something. I should note that I've run DAVID before using a webcam and a projector I had, and successfully calibrated and scanned with it, so it's not that I'm incapable of hitting the right buttons. I'm on a Macbook Air with a relatively new install of Windows 8 x64 if that helps.
BobGarrish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:04 am

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby moog » Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:18 am

when I download an update, I always download it separately, on to my hard drive, then put it on the USB stick as another folder, that way you can always use the previous version if you need to.
LC532-5-3-F(16x65), BenQ PB8220 DLP Projector, logitec quickcam PRO9001, Casio EX-FH20
moog
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:54 am
Location: Australia, Gold Coast

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby Jokeri » Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:38 pm

Same here.
64bit crashes in startup, 32bit version works.
Same thing with the posted zip file 64bit crashes and 32bit works..
Jokeri
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Bug in the new version 3.9.0.4072 64 bits

Postby BobGarrish » Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:36 am

OK, now my bug report is a bit different. 64 bit still crashes, that's nothing new.

The bug is in showing patterns on the projector. David always shows the same pattern (pattern 1), no matter if it's in calibration or not. I can get the camera to calibrate by putting my hand over the projector for a second to cover the pattern, then it finds a full set of green X's.

When it goes into projector calibration, it stays showing the same pattern the whole time and gets to 75% or so before failing with "Cannot find a valid mapping between measured points" etc. Unless it's supposed to show the one pattern with all the lines in 'tiles' going both ways. In that case, it should still turn it off to calibrate the camera. Also, the live view stays almost black when it goes into projector calibration, even though I've uncovered the projector and it should be showing the pattern.

So I think the bug is in the code that switches the patterns during calibration. Please give me a fix for this so I can use the scanner I bought!
BobGarrish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:04 am

Next

Return to Bug Report

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron