Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

You can post your wishes for new features in future program versions here.

Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

Postby milz » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:33 pm

It would be nice to have a feature like this.

mfg milz
Xeon x5650@4ghz
Cam : USB2 CCD 1024x768 / USB3 1280x900
Laser : LC532-5-3-F(16x65) Focusable Green
Projector Acer X110P / Acer K132
dControl one David control box + Turntable + automatic texture lights
mooooom bathroom!!!!!!
User avatar
milz
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Germany Cologne

Re: Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

Postby Sven » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:26 pm

Hi Milz,
I don't understand. Could you please clarify?
Thanks
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

Postby milz » Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:10 pm

heho sven -)

if i work Photoscan for example where i have this feature i will export an obj
then import it to zbrush. here i do a clean of the scan and a auto retopo with dynamesh and zrmesher.
after this i build a new uv map with nice seams which can be good edited in PS.
Now the magic. I reimport the obj with the same postion but new UV map
into photoscan again and can use the function "make texture" with "keep uv"
so i got an obj with my uv map and a nice clean seamed texture ...
uncompressed 16 bit tif with alpha channel for export would be nice !!! -)
this would make the texture function for david much much more usefull.
atm the only way is to polypaint the obj and re map the uv then.
But in this step you lost much detail in texture.
ATM is nearly unpossible to clean a david texture in ps. so the texture i useless. if you try to render with uncleaned texture
you often got probs with the renderengine and visible seams ...
also for gameengines like untiy. asset creation will be a bigger thing in the future.
there are still coming more and more nice autoscripts for scan retopo....
hope you understand my english -)
see here before / after
re_uv001.jpg


p.s need a nikon sdk -) got a D5300 much better for scanning then canon. no lowpassfilter ...
Xeon x5650@4ghz
Cam : USB2 CCD 1024x768 / USB3 1280x900
Laser : LC532-5-3-F(16x65) Focusable Green
Projector Acer X110P / Acer K132
dControl one David control box + Turntable + automatic texture lights
mooooom bathroom!!!!!!
User avatar
milz
 
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Germany Cologne

Re: Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

Postby hunkatibor2 » Sat Mar 28, 2015 8:45 am

Hi Sven
It might be of interest to me is the solution.
Tibor
Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Rebuild texture but keep Uv´s

Postby ShadowTail » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:24 pm

Right now Davids textures only make use of about 5 - 10% of the available texture space.

Retopology would allow for much better use of the texture space.
You can make use of about 90 - 95% of the texture space allowing for much more detail.

See the following example:
Black Warrior.jpg


retopo.jpg


While auto retopology is not the perfect solution, it gives us more to work with.

Please consider adding such an option.
(have a look at 3dcoat's auto retopo tools - they are really powerful)
ShadowTail
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:06 pm


Return to Feature Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest