Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Dual Camera?

You can post your wishes for new features in future program versions here.

Dual Camera?

Postby Christian_Mendez » Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:48 pm

Hello Sven and Simon,

I´ll get straight to the point - Are you guys planning to make 2 Cameras operable with DAVID? I thought to ask you out of curiousity because
I´ve seen systems out there that work with a Dual Camera System and a single Projector.

Cheers,
Christian
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby scottg1982 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:12 pm

Big Vote for this one !
Projector - Mitsubishi HC1600 Sensor - Canon 550D
scottg1982
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:59 pm

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby Sven » Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:21 pm

Hi Christian,
Yes, in the future. Not in 3.4 or 3.5 probably...
The core of DAVID 3 is prepared to work with more than one camera. We know that using two cameras can increase precision and also covers more surface area than just one.
However it will take some time to make good use of that.
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby Christian_Mendez » Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:50 am

That's good news Sven. Keep up the good work!

Christian
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby k_thod » Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:25 am

That's a great news !!

regards,
550D / Acer K11
User avatar
k_thod
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:31 pm

Hi Sven
I recommend it to an alternative solution the single camera moving into two positions . I work on this now.
Tibor :wink:
Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby Austin » Thu May 10, 2012 4:43 am

hunkatibor2 wrote:Hi Sven
I recommend it to an alternative solution the single camera moving into two positions . I work on this now.
Tibor :wink:


How? You must calibrate the camera first..
Lenovo T420:intel i7-2640M,4GB RAM;Acer K11;Imaging Source DMK 23G445,DMx 41BUC02+Pentax H614M,Pentax C2514-M
Austin
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 4:40 am
Location: Guangdong,China

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Fri May 18, 2012 8:07 pm

Hi Austin
I try to convince Simon onto the writing of the software .
Tibor
Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby ferret7 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:26 am

OK - I've finally had the time to really start using the DAVID-SLS-1, 3.4 -and out of the box it is just AWESOME. With the minimum of time and effort I was able to be up and 3D Scanning. Great work ! I use quite a few different 3D Scanners (both Laser & SL), professionally and the DAVID Vision Software is very easy to setup/calibrate/3D Scan (much easier than some 3D Scanners costing $24k and more). With the addition of dual cameras DAVID will have a professional, world class, 3D Scanning system comparable to systems costing 20X... I can not stress enough the importance of dual cameras ... (and an integrated multi-axis turntable would be nice - with a simple scripting - I can keep on wishing...)

Best regards,
-jay-
NextComputing Radius EX-B, Quad Core, 32GB DDR3, Dual Quadro 6000, Quadro 400, UniBrain FireBoard800-e™ Pro Dual - Creaform GO!SCAN3D, 3D3 Solutions HDI ADVANCE R2 - DAVID Vision Systems US (importer/reseller)
User avatar
ferret7
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:39 am
Location: San Jose, CA, U.S.A.

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:20 pm

Hi Ferret
The multi-axis rotary also solved our forum. Two camera software can only promise the far distance. Market value would be really great if Sven improve the quality of texture. But I lay it down next to robotic object rotate my proposal
Tibor
Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:12 pm

Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:51 am

Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby VDX » Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:00 am

Hi Sven,

i have a dual-camera setup with rotary table where it wouldn't be a problem to replace the line-laser by a SL-beamer, so really interested in a dual-cam option too!

Viktor
Attachments
Arbeitsraum.jpg
VDX
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:35 pm

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby dan0891 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:22 pm

i've seen setups with two cameras where the calibration process was quicker, easyer. (they just needed a few pictures of a checker pattern, and could calibrate both cameras compared to each other) maybe it could be used to speed up this process. it would make the whole rig more portable, easyer to setup. i'm not an expert on the subject, also i don't know if you want to mess with that part of the code anymore, it just came to mind by reading dual camera setup. :)
Dan Ulrich

http://www.sculpturescanning.com/
http://www.danulrich.com/
User avatar
dan0891
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:47 am

Re: Dual Camera?

Postby lvrennes » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:57 pm

Any news on using two cameras?

Greatly interested since two cameras give much better precision than one...

I take it your calibration has to change for that right, since it quite hard to have two cameras at an angle to a 90 degree corner... perhaps use the inverted corner here?.. (just a thought)

Regards,
Lucas
lvrennes
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:03 am

Next

Return to Feature Wish List

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests