Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Vertically scan

Questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the 3d scanning process.

Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:49 pm

Hello to All, this is my first topic. David laser scanner is very powerfull, but I have some problem for calibrate and scan vertically. Is It Possible? I wanna to scan total body for minime printing. Thank you for interesting.
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby Curiousjeff » Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:10 pm

This combinations works:

Classical vertical setup = Camera in horizontal position above projector in horizontal position

But I think all combinations are possible:

Camera vertical or horizontal
Projector vertical or horizontal
Calibration corner horizontal (standard) or vertical (rotated 90 degrees).

Make sure to calibrate with "both" active and that all the important makers are "seen" by the camera.

Jeff
Panasonic GH4 4K with lens 12-35, Inogeni 4K to USB3 hdmi capture device, projectors: Acer K135/Acer K11/NEC V260X, Canon 60D, macro 60 mm, MagicLantern
Curiousjeff
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:17 pm
Location: Geneva, Swizerland

Re: Vertically scan

Postby micr0 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:56 am

barocco3d wrote:Hello to All, this is my first topic. David laser scanner is very powerfull, but I have some problem for calibrate and scan vertically. Is It Possible? I wanna to scan total body for minime printing. Thank you for interesting.


By vertical I assume you mean with the projector and cameras aspect ratio rotated 90deg? If your camera and projector are mounted to the same fixture al la the David SLS kit. then you can set up and calibrate normaly and after calibration rotate the camera/projector set up 90deg. So long as you don't change the position or focus of the camera and projector it should be fine.
µ
micr0
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:54 am

Thank you Jeff and Micr0, at this moment scanning with projector and camera mounted in a staff, calibrate in orizontal and scan in vertically rotating the staff. But I have many problem aligning the scans. The pannel calibrating mesuring 600. Do you think the pannel is too big?
THANK YOU
Barocco3d

PS image pannel
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby Curiousjeff » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:31 pm

Alignment problems usually come from:

Calibration panel not perfectly flat and not exactly at 90 degree.

Extreme lens distortion (camera or projector) which David cannot compensate.

From your image, I guess the problem is the calibration panel. It does not seem flat.

Why not start with a smaller calibration panel, made on a rigid material (glass, thick plywood, etc...) ?

Jeff
Panasonic GH4 4K with lens 12-35, Inogeni 4K to USB3 hdmi capture device, projectors: Acer K135/Acer K11/NEC V260X, Canon 60D, macro 60 mm, MagicLantern
Curiousjeff
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:17 pm
Location: Geneva, Swizerland

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:57 pm

ok Jeff you have right, but a total body - half body can calibrate with rigid pannel 170. please can you explain how.
Thank you
Barocco3d
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Fri Jul 29, 2016 2:49 pm

I think to solve my calibration problem. Look attachment image. Filter box value too big. I spend 1 week of trouble try and try for this (interface error).
Thank you to all.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10209994864777795&set=a.3469288780546.157394.1520885284&type=3
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby drndadoo » Mon Aug 01, 2016 10:26 am

First time I see that numbers are black. Try to reinstall the DAVID maybe.
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Vertically scan

Postby micr0 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:57 pm

drndadoo wrote:First time I see that numbers are black. Try to reinstall the DAVID maybe.


That wont fix it. Are you using windows 7?
µ
micr0
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:12 pm

Yes windows 7.
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:25 pm

Value Smoothing filter too big value 6.
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby micr0 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:00 pm

barocco3d wrote:Yes windows 7.


Are you using "classic" as your desk top theme? See where I'm going with this? :)
µ
micr0
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Vertically scan

Postby barocco3d » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:04 am

Yes I'm using "classic" theme. Solved changing theme. Thank You.
barocco3d
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 8:21 am

Re: Vertically scan

Postby drndadoo » Tue Aug 09, 2016 11:36 am

wow, good point micro, thanks for help.
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm


Return to 3D Laser Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests