Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Beginners question

Questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the 3d scanning process.

Beginners question

Postby jambor.zsolt » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:49 pm

Hello i'm new in the 3d scanning world and i have a few questions.
1. can you describe a head scan protocol? where i should start? how many scans do i need?
2. different scans are stitched autometically?
4. how i add texture/hair to a head
5. how should the room be illuminated? i need something special?
6. i couldn't find any data about the resolution of a scan.
jambor.zsolt

Re: Beginners question

Postby Artisan S » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:34 pm

Headscan and laser, not so good idea.

2 reasons,

1) Laser + Eyes = trouble.
2) Laser + Head = movement, since laserscanning takes time (lots of it).

Scanning and hair, not so good idea.

2 reasons,

1) Convicing hair needs to be strand rendered (see Blender and the rest of pro leage modelling packages).
2) Hare shines, shine is trouble for any type of scanner.

But there are alternatives:

For the laser:

Use a structured light scanner and hope for the best, but you also need more then one scan which means problems (unless you use more scanners but even then).

For scanning hair:

Go photogrametric ( e.g. agisoft has some nice code) using several (lets say 3 to 5 for a portrait, 8 to 12 for a full head) synchronized camera's, photogrametric scanning includes hair as part of the model. Else use bathing cap (non glos please) and substite hair using a modelling program (have fun texturing and creating the complex hair-shaders).

Greets, Ed.
Artisan S

Postby WalterMo » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:03 pm