Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Projector as a laser scanner

Questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the 3d scanning process.

Re: Projector as a laser scanner

Postby Sven » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:51 pm

Hi Argo,

The idea of a fixed laser line and a turntable is not bad and not new. The core of DAVID3 is even able to do that, but we have never included it into the user interface. As Gunter wrote, it would require a precise calibration of the laser position and the turntable movement. We have abandoned these possibilities because
- other things always were more important
- requires special hardware that most users don't have
- requires lots of changes in the GUI

For now, there are other scanners who can do that.
The main disadvantage is that you will get only those surface regions that "point outward" ... e.g. a simple object like a coffee cup would work, but the inside of the handle would not be scanned. A more complex object would have many holes in the scan...
SL is much better in most cases.

@Gunter: Shapefusion indeed would not "accept" scans of only one line because one line contains no triangle faces, just vertices. This problem can be solved, but it's just not meant to be used this way. The best way would be to create one scan 360°. Note: This scan could not be shown as one plain "depth image" as it is now. It could be a cylindrical depth image... I'm just saying this changes a lot inside DAVID ;-)

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Projector as a laser scanner

Postby MagWeb » Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Abusing DAVID is my favourite game - think you learned that over the years :wink: :D

If there's a doable way to allow loading only vertices to Shapefusion, this would be great to use Shapefusion also for different scanning sources which end up in pointclouds.
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Previous

Return to 3D Laser Scanning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests