Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

2 laser scanning setups, what are the pros and cons?

Questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the 3d scanning process.

2 laser scanning setups, what are the pros and cons?

Postby karlkohl » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:40 am

Hello,
I have never done laser scanning before however after reading many posts on this forum and searching on the web I found some basic setups for 3d laser scanning.

lzr.png

I'm basically interested in 360deg full object scans.

In the first method.
The laser is either above or below the cam with the required intersection angle.
The laser sweeps top to bottom or vice versa and line is horizontal.
After one scan the object moves 45 deg and the process restarts till 360 deg is covered

In the second method
the laser is next to the cam with required intersection angle.
The laser is stationary and the object is continuously rotating till complete 360 deg scan is over.

I don't know specifics as I have never done laser scanning before.
However what I would like to know is does David support both these types of scanning?

I'm not sure I will get the whole object in just this one position possibly it would have to be turned and aligned into different positions to get the whole object.
How to capture the top and the bottom of the object.

Waiting for inputs from pros and experts!
karlkohl

Re: 2 laser scanning setups, what are the pros and cons?

Postby MagWeb » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:31 am

Hi,

David supports only the setup 1