Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Trying to make scale models. Can David help?

Questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the 3d scanning process.

Trying to make scale models. Can David help?

Postby 125250 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:12 pm

HI, I will start off by letting you know that I have no prior knowledge of this technology and very limited knowledge of CNC machines. My goal is to replicate motorcycles realistically in 1:6 scale. Could I use David to scan motorcycle parts and then take the scanned image and use it in a CAM program? I was planning on building a 3 axis cnc router, or learning to use my friends Bridgeport. I am really excited there is something like this, especially if it can help me realize a dream of building really detailed scale motorcycle models. Thanks in advance for any help.

Re: Trying to make scale models. Can David help?

Postby cooltech » Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:41 am

Hi

Ive tried a few things out recently trying the demo out and seeing what it can and cant do (then trying filters to reduce the issues with all light scanning)

You can replicate a model but in terms of engineering accuracy you would need high end hardware and a laser to match... I think DS could do something similar 1:6 scaled in a CAD program. But I dont think it will have the definition like the original... especially with crome or highly reflective surfaces....

Give me a couple of days next week and I will try out different materials and see what results are produced... I'm working on shiney (reflective) like parts at the moment and a way to maintain laser quality.. which also includes black surfaces (absorption) to..