Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Discussions about latest DAVID developments, beta versions...

Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby Simon » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:15 pm

Bugfix in Version 3.7.1:
Changed default installation directory for 64-bit version, in order to solve update problems from 32-bit to 64-bit (missing user settings and license). The 64-bit version is now installed in the same directory as the 32-bit version.


On some PCs (Windows 7 or 8, 64-bit) the Installer of version 3.7.0 (DAVID_Setup_3.7.0.3621.exe, which was published yesterday) copies the software update into the wrong directory, but does not copy your license file and settings. The result is that DAVID starts in "trial mode" with default settings. After updating to 3.7.1 the software is back in the right directory again using the license file and settings that are still there.

The problem only occurs under the following conditions:
  • You own a regular non-USB license,
  • you have installed DAVID version 3.7.0,
  • on Microsoft Windows 7 or 8, 64-bit,
  • and you have chosen "Windows standard installation" (and not "No installation, extract only").

In this case you should perform an update to the latest version (currently 3.7.1).
After that you might find two DAVID-LASERSCANNER3 installation directories, one under
C:\Program Files (x86)\DAVID-LASERSCANNER3
and a second orphaned installation under
C:\Program Files\DAVID-LASERSCANNER3
If this is the case you can delete the second folder (C:\Program Files\DAVID-LASERSCANNER3) because these files are not used anymore.

Please excuse the trouble caused!
Simon
User avatar
Simon
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: Braunschweig - Germany

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:23 pm

Hello!

Why is the 64x-Version not anymore running on Vista 64x?

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby Simon » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:31 am

Hi Alex,

do you have tested DAVID3_x64 on Vista? If not, please try it. We decided to use Window 7 as minimum requirement for x64 since there are only a few users that still use Vista. So we never tested it.
User avatar
Simon
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: Braunschweig - Germany

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby DrDucati » Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:56 pm

Hi Sven,

I just want to say thank you for version 3.7.1. Every release gets so much better!

The improvements to SL scan quality and Fusion and the UI have made everything so much faster! I no longer need to use Meshlab to clean up the scans. This saves A LOT of time. I get excellent results straight out of David version 3.7.1.

Keep up the great work. It is appreciated.

Cheers!
DrDucati
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:48 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:10 am

Hello Simon!

I don't know why, but I installed the 3.7.1 on my Laptop and he there was the connection for the x64 Version, but he can't find the .exe - and I also installed / updated it on my stick and there is no x64 .exe

Is this a Vista Problem?

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:03 am

Me again.

I really don't want to nerv you, BUT...

I tried it again and it doesn't not install a David_x64.exe on my computer or on the stick. there is only a David_x64.bat which is asking for the.exe, when I try to start them. Any statement from you to this problem? :)

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby Sven » Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:33 am

Hi Alex,

I have tested it. On my Windows 7 x64 it works. I have used the 3.7.1 setup installer. All three options, "Windows installation", "extract only" and "update USB" have done what they should. In all cases a DAVID_x64.exe has been installed.

It seems the installer does not install x64 on Vista systems. So I have attached the exe here.
Please extract the DAVID_x64.exe from the zip container into your DAVID3 application folder (where the DAVID3.exe is). Does it work?

Thanks
Sven
Attachments
DAVID3_x64.exe.zip
The 64-bit executable only. Won't work alone. Must be extracted into the DAVID 3.7.1.3624 application folder.
(1.55 MiB) Downloaded 205 times
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:09 am

Hey Sven,

tnx for the help - but it doesn't work when I try to start the DAVID_x64.exe, it is asking for a "K32GetModuleFileNameExA" which the computer couldn't find in the DLL "KERNEL32.dll" - probably there are other datas missing? like a "KERNEL64.dll"?

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby Sven » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:50 am

(Post edited 2013-04-24)

Hi Alex,

The files you mention are not delivered with DAVID. They are part of Windows / .NET Framework.
I assume that on your system the Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5 might be missing or broken. DAVID x64 requires that. Please (re-)install it (download from Microsoft). Version 4.0 is not enough for DAVID3_x64!

The other required files should be there.
These files are only for x64:
msvcp110.dll
msvcr110.dll
vccorlib110.dll
vcomp110.dll

You can also try the version 3.7.1.3642 which I have posted here: viewtopic.php?p=26338#p26338
It should be complete.

Please let us know whether it works on Vista x64!

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:25 am

Hey!

I tried both - but the same message with the DLL...

I'm a bit confused, becaus I thought that the Veriosn 3.7.0 was also avaiable for Vista? Or I'm wrong? (I only read the topics about...)

Any other possibilies?

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:31 am

Okay - one addition...

so you're sure that it will work better when I've Win 7 x64? I also have other problems with DAVID under Vista (for example I'm loosing the drop-down (right klick) menu after a long working time and also the other settings under "Settings" are nor klickable during this problem - because prob. of the RAM) - do you thing Win 7 will solve these problems also? I mean I would be willing to buy Win 7 for DAVID, but this is prob not the best solution also for other...

Alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby Sven » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:38 am

I can't promise that Win7 will solve these problems. At least I have not heard of these problems from other Win7 users...
I think Microsoft offers you to install Windows 7 and test it for 30 days before you have to buy and activate it?

You could also consider Windows 8. One of our developers (Markus) works with that. He is very satisfied and DAVID works fine on it.

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Please update to DAVID Version 3.7.1

Postby AlexNoir » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:39 am

Sorry

But nothing possible to solve this problem with vista?

alex
AlexNoir
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:49 pm


Return to DAVID Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest