Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Discussions about latest DAVID developments, beta versions...

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Sven » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:44 am

That was easy...
New version (for XP only), including faster Fusion...
http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freeware/DAVID_3.7.0.3489_beta_XP.zip

It will still be somewhat slower than the Vista/7/8 version, but still much faster than version 3.5 / 3.6.

Sorry for the little seesaw...

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby WalterMo » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:38 pm

Thanks Sven, now it's working fine.

I have made the same comparison with fusing of the same model as two days ago.

And, the new version 3.7.0 Beta is 2 times faster on my XP pc than 3.5.1 :!:

Walter

Edit: @ Christian,
Unfortunately our wishes and hopes didn't become true, it's not a 64 bit version. :wink:
But hope dies last. I think in 3 months we have a DAVID 64 bit version.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby k_thod » Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:26 pm

Hi,
On my side, made a quick test at work (no cam/no beamer) , and i've been unable to get the license to work.
Beta version is in a subfolder on the usb key and i've copied the license.dat in this folder but it doesn't work ..

Hope it help !

regards,
550D / Acer K11
User avatar
k_thod
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Sven » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:00 pm

k_thod wrote:Beta version is in a subfolder on the usb key and i've copied the license.dat in this folder but it doesn't work ..

The file that you have to copy from your DAVID3 folder into your beta folder is "DAVID3_license.lic".
Please let me know what error message you get. Go the the Help menu (blue question mark), License Info -> what does it say?

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Alyx » Sat Jan 19, 2013 8:34 pm

Tested:
Win xp SP3 with framework 4.0 extended,
Intel duo E6750, 3gb ram, Ati Radeon HD 4800 1gb.

Notebooks:
Acer aspire v3-771g
Win 7 with framework 4.5,
Intel i7-3610qm, 16gb ram, GeForce GT650M

Acer aspire 5742zg
Win 7 with framework 4.5
Intel P6100, 8gb ram, GeForce GT420M

Everything works fine, stil testing
Acer i7 3610qm GF GT650M 2gb 16gb ram
Alyx
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:39 am

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Godehardt » Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:07 pm

Hello,
I use Windows 7 with an IDS uEye camera and a very new dlp projector, the PB62B from LG. Everything works fine under DAVID 3.5, the camera is recognized and calibration works perfectly, and also the projector can be calibrated quickly. However, when I try DAVID 3.7 beta, the projector cannot be seen by the program. Only the option for "Handheld Laser Scanning" is shown in the setup, no way to use SL-scanning with the new projector. I still have an older pocket projector which I am using for macro scanning (it has only 10 lumen which is enough for close-up scanning and VGA resolution). If there is time, then I will try this device with the new beta version of DAVID. I will post the result here then.
Best regards
Erhard
Erhard Godehardt
User avatar
Godehardt
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Hellenthal (Germany)

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Godehardt » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:49 pm

Well, the problem could be solved. I just calibrated the new LG projector using DAVID 3.5, then I copied the directory with the settings to the folder of DAVID 3.7beta. It worked and I could make scans then with the beta version. However, I could not calibrate the projector under the beta version even after copying the folder with the settings (the respective fields for projector calibration were not shown). Calibration of the camera, on the other hand, could be done in the beta version at any time (obviously, since the camera is also needed for all other scanning methods). So, something seems to not work properly with SL scanning in my configuration. A test with the pocket projector will follow soon.
Best regards,
Erhard
Erhard Godehardt
User avatar
Godehardt
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Hellenthal (Germany)

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Sven » Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:38 am

Hi Erhard,

So you can't select "Structured Light Setup"???
temp.png


This option should ALWAYS be there, even when only one screen is available. DAVID does not check whether a projector is connected. Also it does not matter which model, DAVID does not even know. It only sees the NUMBER of display devices ("Monitor ID"). DAVID can't tell between a monitor and a projector, they are all "screens".

Maybe it helps to select another type (hand-held), then go back to "Structured Light Setup".
If something is broken in DAVID's settings, please delete all files in "Settings" to reset everything.

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Sven » Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:33 pm

@all:
Just a note, maybe this is causing confusions...:
The "Calibrate" button in the "Calibration" menu will calibrate the whole scanner, camera AND projector!
calibrate.png

That's why there is no more "Calibrate" button in the "Structured Light" menu.

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby Godehardt » Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:24 pm

Thank you, Sven! I really missed that point that the calibration now will be performed for the whole scanning unit in one single step. However, if you do the calibration in one single step, then we need some hint why the calibration failed if it failed. The other problem with the missing lines for motor scanning and structured light scanning was no real problem. I just worked too hastily with the new DAVID version and missed some points.
Best regards,
Erhard
Erhard Godehardt
User avatar
Godehardt
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Hellenthal (Germany)

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby cave men » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:37 pm

Hi,

I agree with Walter, overall speed of this new version is awesome. But I'm facing some trouble with the alignment. I randomly get a appcrash whhile aligning two scans. Just look at the attached picture.
Working with Win 7 64bit, machine is a i7-2600 @3,4 GHz, 12 GB RAM, GeForce 405 512 MB.
Attachments
Absturz.jpg
cave men
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:13 am
Location: Germany

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby geodav » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:08 pm

seems to crash in shapefusion on my laptop Coreduo + gf9600 + 4gm ram
but works fine on my main comp i5 gf550ti + 8gb ram
both win7 64

suprised that the program doesn't have a log out put

what would be nice is an increment save button to save the constant typing re-naming eg head_scan_01 02 03 .....
most 3d programs have this sort of feature

keep up the good work
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ut40k-the-chosen - Warhammer 40,000 for UDK
http://www.youtube.com/user/ut40kgeodav?feature=mhee My Youtube Tutorial Channel for all things conserning the Unreal Developement Kit
geodav
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: http://clodelstudios.com/UDKC/

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby xoxu » Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:53 pm

A bug when you want a fast save
you create a new folder, you rename it, but instead of select the new folder renamed you select OK with the name "new folder" still in the field "Folder"
This folder don't exist and David crash

A small bug but at a critical moment ...

Xoxu
xoxu
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:59 am

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby geodav » Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:05 pm

ok got to crash this time i had the log window running though its hard to see the sceen shot is edited to include the full ms error listing
i tried the same scans on my main comp with no problems
the laptop was updated to .net 4.5 via the link on the first port
my main comp has 4.0 i think
Attachments
david_crash.jpg
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ut40k-the-chosen - Warhammer 40,000 for UDK
http://www.youtube.com/user/ut40kgeodav?feature=mhee My Youtube Tutorial Channel for all things conserning the Unreal Developement Kit
geodav
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: http://clodelstudios.com/UDKC/

Re: DAVID 3.7.0 beta

Postby geodav » Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:37 pm

didn't expect an answer or help, so i solve the crash myself by comparing which .Net 's i had installed on my computers.

as it happens you need BOTH 4.0 and 4.5 .Net installed for the beta to work correctly without crashing

the first post i think is a bit miss leading which why i only installed 4.5
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ut40k-the-chosen - Warhammer 40,000 for UDK
http://www.youtube.com/user/ut40kgeodav?feature=mhee My Youtube Tutorial Channel for all things conserning the Unreal Developement Kit
geodav
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:38 pm
Location: http://clodelstudios.com/UDKC/

PreviousNext

Return to DAVID Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests