Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

DAVID 64 bit?

Discussions about latest DAVID developments, beta versions...

DAVID 64 bit?

Postby Christian_Mendez » Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:49 pm

Hello everybody,

I was working a lot with DAVID lately and no matter how much meshes I loaded into Shapefusion DAVID
barely uses more than 4 GB of RAM. My system has 16GB of RAM (win7 64bit) - so my question is, can
DAVID utilize more than 4GB of RAM or am I missing something?

Is there a 64bit version planned in the future?


Christian
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby Christian_Mendez » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:37 pm

Sorry for double posting,

Nevermind...I checked the Task Manager... :roll:
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby Christian_Mendez » Sun Oct 07, 2012 7:32 pm

Sorry for posting - again

I was really confused about DAVID only using up around 4GB of my memory, and thankfully this was clarified by Sven in another post.
DAVID being a 32bit app can only utilize 4GB...

I´m sure a 64bit version would really boost up DAVID.

Hands up if you want a DAVID 64bit ! :wink: :lol:


christian
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby ZmajSnoshaj » Thu Oct 11, 2012 11:49 pm

Hmm, good point Christian_Mendez.
I wonder if it's possible to bypass these 32-bit/4Gb limitations of the x86 architecture with this techno voodoo known as PAE (Physical Address Extension)
By no means am I much of a programmer but I'm sure the good folks who made the scanner app will come up with something that will blow us out of the water.

PAE Definition- Wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

Geoff Chappell- Licensed Memory in 32-Bit Windows Vista
http://www.geoffchappell.com/notes/windows/license/memory.htm

How To Enable More Than 4GB Memory in Windows Vista and Windows 7
http://www.pallab.net/2009/12/30/enable-more-than-4gb-memory-in-windows-vista-7/
~Noah Benzing
User avatar
ZmajSnoshaj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:39 pm
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby dreko » Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:11 pm

Just adding my 2cents. I'd love for David to upgrade to a 64bit app!!!
dreko
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:54 pm

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby Sven » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:26 pm

Yeah. Working on it. We are really close. Coming very soon. :D
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: DAVID 64 bit?

Postby Sven » Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:16 pm

Take a look here: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=5520
:D
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany


Return to DAVID Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron