Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Using Canon EOS as webcam

Discussions about latest DAVID developments, beta versions...

Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:28 am

Hello, there :D

Are there anyone who have tried Canon EOS with DAVID3.2? I've been waiting for DSLR to work with DAVID.

After long waiting, DAVID Team did it again. So I bought Canon 600D immediately.
Since there is no guide about 3.2 to lead me I tried with my shallow knowledge that I inquired in this Forum
But it doesn’t work as I expected. It seems DAVID recognizes CANON but I couldn’t see Live View through DAVID.

I set camera live-mode and connect via USB that comes with 600D product package.

Am I wrong? Should I do something to see live view in DAVID? What about cable, is it right to use USB not HDMI?

Any opinion would be appreciated.
Thank a lot in advance

Byung-gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby sem81 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:02 pm

Hi Byung,
i bought my eos 550d just yesterday for the same reason.
To work with David i do as follow.
1. Install eos drivers (before connct the camera).
2. Set camera mode to manual (M in the selection ring)
3. Switch off all automatic functions (auto iso, lighting etc..).
4. connect to pc and start David.

For sure someone can explain this proceure better than me; i'm still learning.

Stefano
sem81
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:18 am
Location: Pavia, Italia

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:05 pm

sem81 wrote:Hi Byung,
i bought my eos 550d just yesterday for the same reason.
To work with David i do as follow.
1. Install eos drivers (before connct the camera).
2. Set camera mode to manual (M in the selection ring)
3. Switch off all automatic functions (auto iso, lighting etc..).
4. connect to pc and start David.

For sure someone can explain this proceure better than me; i'm still learning.

Stefano


Hi, Stefano

Thanks alot for your reply. Did you buy EOS 550D? isn't it prvious model for 600D?
only difference between your instruction and my way is model No(600D)

So, EOS 550D works exactely like webcam or DAVID CAM? did you do any extra job to use EOS 550D like webcam?

I'm wondering if I bought it for nothing and spent time in vain.

Thanks again

Byung Gyu.
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby sem81 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:01 pm

Yes, 550d is older than 600d (some months i think). I bought 550d 'cause i found a good offer.
I think there is some little differences between this two models and if i can use it with David you can do the same.
Currently i use it directly with David (without any external software) and it works like a normal webcam.
I made only some test but i achieved some good result (great result if compared with my previous scans).
First thing i notice is the great improvement of projector's calibration procedure; with the pro 9000 is hard to obtain a perfect sine waves and a good/flat line without noise in phase error.
I don't know if, for SL scan, is better an SLR or an industrial camera but, for sure, an SLR is more versatile.
In conclusion i think that an EOS SLR is a good buy.
Attachments
Fairy_test.JPG
My first scan with EOS 550d - 60mm height
sem81
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:18 am
Location: Pavia, Italia

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:49 pm

sem81 wrote:Yes, 550d is older than 600d (some months i think). I bought 550d 'cause i found a good offer.
I think there is some little differences between this two models and if i can use it with David you can do the same.
Currently i use it directly with David (without any external software) and it works like a normal webcam.
I made only some test but i achieved some good result (great result if compared with my previous scans).
First thing i notice is the great improvement of projector's calibration procedure; with the pro 9000 is hard to obtain a perfect sine waves and a good/flat line without noise in phase error.
I don't know if, for SL scan, is better an SLR or an industrial camera but, for sure, an SLR is more versatile.
In conclusion i think that an EOS SLR is a good buy.


Gooood!! it works like DAVID CAM maybe better than DAVID CAM. I just envy you. :o
I'm still struggling. as you see in the picture below DAVID seems to reconize but DAVID doesn't show resolution, Frame rate.
Maybe it's time for me to lay dowm 600D and wait for other user who uses other EOS model rather than 550D or wait for DAVID team to answer to my problem.

Image

Thank you

Byung Gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby sem81 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:11 pm

It's strange. when you use eos utility, live view function works properly?
This evening i would try to use extrawebcam; it allow to change some eos settings. It should be more comfortable.
Attachments
Eos_utility.JPG
Eos Utility
sem81
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:18 am
Location: Pavia, Italia

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:15 am

sem81 wrote:It's strange. when you use eos utility, live view function works properly?
This evening i would try to use extrawebcam; it allow to change some eos settings. It should be more comfortable.


Strange? That’s what I mean. I checked all the things possible. 600D has no problem to show live view when using EOS Utility. I check it with 2 different PC but same frustration.

Windows7 64bit system, XP 32bit system. Which I scanned with Pro9000, DAVID CAM.

I should have waited for the DAVID Team to answer but I couldn’t help. I feel like I wasted all my weekend with 600D.
Canon EOS 600D.jpg

My weekend has almost gone without any result here in Korea. It’s still morning there Stefano?
Enjoy your weekend left :D

Thanks

Byung Gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby icstra » Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:50 am

Hi,
EOS 550d and 600D are similar excepted the orientable screen on 600d.
So, if it works with 550D, it could works with 600D.
Normaly you just have to plug usb connector on your lap top.
David recognizes eos automaticaly.
Set your camera on "M".
May be you will have to play with the live view button of your camera until you can ear the mirror motion sound.

Best regards.

Thierry
MacBookPro 17" I5 Dual Core 2xSSD 128Go, RAM 8Go, OSX Lion, Bootcamp, Win7 X64
EOS 550d and Logitech HD Pro C910
LG HX300G 1024x768

www.icstra,ch
icstra
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:12 am
Location: Châtel-St-Denis Switzerland

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:10 pm

icstra wrote:Hi,
EOS 550d and 600D are similar excepted the orientable screen on 600d.
So, if it works with 550D, it could works with 600D.
Normaly you just have to plug usb connector on your lap top.
David recognizes eos automaticaly.
Set your camera on "M".
May be you will have to play with the live view button of your camera until you can ear the mirror motion sound.

Best regards.

Thierry


Hi, Thierry

As I said in post above, DAVID seems to reconize at first but It doesn't show resolution and frame rate.

I tried every possible way to solve this problem. but to my frustration, I couldn't find any clue play with camera.

Thanks you

Byung Gyu
canon_1.PNG
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Sven » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:14 am

Please see my post here viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3788 about Canon EOS models.
Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Sven wrote:Please see my post here viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3788 about Canon EOS models.
Sven

Hello, Sven

I tried 600D with new test version that you've mentioned in the post.

But It still doesn't work with 600D. besides I couldn't run new test version in Windows 7 64bit system.

Byung-gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Sven » Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:20 pm

Sorry, forgot to mention: that test version requires the .NET Framework 4.0.

So what happens when you connect to the 600D?

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:51 am

Sven wrote:Sorry, forgot to mention: that test version requires the .NET Framework 4.0.

So what happens when you connect to the 600D?

Sven


in previous version, DAVID seems to react when I choose Canon EOS in camera selecting field.
LCD screen of EOS flashed instantly but after that nothing happened.
DAVID shows EOS 600D in the camera list but don't show camera resolution or frame rate like picture above in both XP 32, Windows7 64.

In this test version, DAVID required me to install .NET 4.0 so I installed it in both system.
I could run DAVID normally in XP system and chose EOS 600D in the camera list.
But literally nothing happened LCD screen of EOS 600D didn't even flash.

I couldn't run DAVID on WIN7 64. DAVID instantly crashed before starting.

I was able to hear the sound of shutter-releasing when I tested with EOS utility
But not with DAVID.

Hope this be of help.

Byung-gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Sven » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:04 pm

hi Byung-gyu,

Thanks for the report.

Please start the DAVID3.exe from a CMD Shell on your 64-bit system. Do you get any helpful error messages?

Please try this version 2675: does it run on Win7-64?
http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... 0.2675.zip

@all:
Has anyone else tried EOS cameras? Do you have the same problems?
We only have a 500D at hand, no problems here... :?

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Using Canon EOS as webcam

Postby Byung-gyu » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:20 pm

Sven wrote:hi Byung-gyu,

Thanks for the report.

Please start the DAVID3.exe from a CMD Shell on your 64-bit system. Do you get any helpful error messages?

Please try this version 2675: does it run on Win7-64?
http://www.david-laserscanner.com/freew ... 0.2675.zip

@all:
Has anyone else tried EOS cameras? Do you have the same problems?
We only have a 500D at hand, no problems here... :?

Sven


Hi, Sven

2675 version dosen't have the problem to run on WIN7 64-bit system. however 600D doesn't work on this 2675 version too.

I tryied both systems(XP 32b4it, WiIN7 64) but symptom is just the same as 2674.

one of our potential customer has 600D too but He said it doesn't work with DAVID3.2 too.

Please anyone who has EOS answers to Sven's request.

Byung-gyu
User avatar
Byung-gyu
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:29 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Next

Return to DAVID Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest