Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Trouble with alignment

The place for all topics related to the 'Shapefusion' tool of DAVID.

Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:03 am

I'm scanning a Glock 26 blue gun and the first few scans look fantastic, great resolution, very clean. As I continue to add scans the worse it gets. Fusion has all kinds of trouble getting things aligned after maybe the first 5 or 6 scans. Even when I manually get it extremely close Fusion still can't seem to fine tune it. The Glock has enough distinctive features with the grip and all you'd think Fusion would have a pretty easy time of it.

Where am I going wrong?
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby drndadoo » Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:32 am

Are your scans distorted or you just have hard time with alignment to find real spots?
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:50 pm

Doesn't appear that anything is distorted.
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby drndadoo » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:10 pm

Have you tried "ContactPairSelection" tool ? That could be helpful. or maybe to use "side objects" in your scans. They can help by alignment.
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Wed Aug 26, 2015 2:31 am

Well, I've got about 7 hours in this scan so far and have little more than a muddy misaligned model. I've tried powder, no powder, upside down, right side up, standing on end, laying flat and everything in between.

I've tried all kinds of alignment attempts, global, contact pair, manual, 120mm panel 240 panel and so far I can't get a good clean model. The first 3 - 5 scan look great, very clean and detailed, perfectly aligned. The more scans I add the worse it gets and the more alignment problems I have.

Can it really be this hard? I'm mean I've had great scans in the past but this blue gun is kicking my ass! It's for a customer too. :(
Attachments
IMG_2974.JPG
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby drndadoo » Wed Aug 26, 2015 9:20 am

Did you made it? Wanna show us final results?
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:24 pm

If you're asking about the gun, no it's from blue gun. In terms of the final result, I haven't got that far yet but I will certainly post it.
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:50 am

I washed the model, used a good coat of dulling spray, recalibrated everything and gave it another go. Still seems like I should get more detail but this is definitely the best run so far. As I said, it seems the more scans I add the more "cleanness" I loose.

Here's the funny thing.. so called. Before, I had issues with intermittent crashes if I used the red x to delete a series of scans. Since I upgraded to Win 10, David has been rock solid. The last few days I've been hammering pretty good too.

I finally got a good series of scan and alignments and when I did the fuse David crashed. Not only that but I had made sure I saved the project and when I reloaded David my saved file wasn't there so it appeared in that moment before the crash it didn't actually save the file.

Anyway.. want do you think?

https://sketchfab.com/models/b47b3986ce ... fc7082902b
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:19 am

Never seen them before but it appears as though I'm getting some scan lines as well.
Attachments
2015-08-26_19-13-18.png
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby drndadoo » Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:25 am

I've noticed that sometimes, I don't know the reason, when I am making more scans one of them can be distorted or with lines. Then he make the problems with alignment and everything else.
So I just delete him. It could be that aperture and projector are not synced 100% of a time or so. Also I am always making more copies of project I am working on. For example first scans, then aligned scans, then project with fusion. So whatever happens there is always one step back that I can go.
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:25 pm

Had my second crash during a fusion this morning. I did capture the debug screen when it happened. My crashing when globally deleting scans with the red x seems to have disappeared with the upgrade to Win 10 and replaced with crashing when fusing although its only happened twice.
Attachments
Screenshot (1).png
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby Sven » Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:41 pm

Hi,
It's hard to tell why it crashes.
Please try this new beta: viewtopic.php?p=32819
Please let us know how it works.

The "red x" crash should be fixed.
Windows 10: DAVID should run as good or bad as in Windows 7 or 8...

Sven
User avatar
Sven
DAVID Developer
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:59 am
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Trouble with alignment

Postby dklassen » Fri Sep 04, 2015 6:55 pm

Thank you Sven, I'll try it.
Acer Aspire V15 laptop w/ 8g ram / Windows 10, Acer K132, DFK 42BUC03, Computar Megapixel 2/3 12mm, David 4.0, V-Slot 1000x20x40 linear rail, Cam and Projector mounts by JDM Dyno.
User avatar
dklassen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:36 pm
Location: Spring Hill, TN


Return to Shape Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron