Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Resolution

The place for all topics related to the 'Shapefusion' tool of DAVID.

Resolution

Postby omel » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:42 pm

Hi,
i just have a little question about one thing:
in "http://www.david-laserscanner.com/wiki/david3_user_manual/shape_fusion" you say, that "The result heavily depends on the fusion parameter 'Resolution'". what exactly do you mean with "Resolution" and the "Parameter"?
Thank you already for the good support time ago
omel
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: Resolution

Postby WalterMo » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:49 am

Here you can see the difference after fusion.
The left was made with a resolution of 500 and without setting the 'Refinement' hook.
The right with a resolution of 800 and the 'Refinement' hook was set.
A hook was set in both cases for 'Close Holes'.

The 'parameter' is the set value (e.g. 500). Of course a higher resolution corresponds with a bigger file size. In these cases 41.8 MB (550) and 99.8MB (800).
Attachments
Fusion resolutions.jpg
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Resolution

Postby omel » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:06 am

Thank you WalterMo. So it which measurement unit is the Resolution? If i get a Mesh online from the software i could just work without the fusion resolution or not?
omel
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: Resolution

Postby WalterMo » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:51 pm

I don't know what units the 'Resolution' has. That's a question for a DAVID programmer.

Your second question I don't understand:
If you have OBJ files from any source, you can upload them to Shape Fusion. You can align them here. If you intend to fuse them you must set a value for the resolution. Start with 300.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Resolution

Postby Elesago » Thu Sep 25, 2014 12:03 pm

Hello,
I'm using David Laser Scanner and I want to know which is the measurement unit of the resolution. I hope anybody can write here. I need it.
Thanks!
Elesago
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:16 pm

Re: Resolution

Postby MagWeb » Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:24 pm

There's no stable unit for the resolution.

As far as I understood (maybe this has to be corrected):
The resolution value means a 3D grid resolution.
DAVID constructs a "bounding cube" around your object. Its side length is 1.2 times the biggest dimension (either in X, Y or Z)
Means if there is a object of 100x50x50 mm the bounding cube is 120x120x120 (1.2 x 100).
This bounding cube is devided by the resolution value.
If you set Resolution to 250 there are 250x250x250 cells. Each cell cube is 0.48x0.48x0.48 ( 120/250 - its side length is displayed as "VertexSpacing" right below the Res slider)
Each cell which is intersected by the surface to fuse constructs a vertex of the fusion result. The vertex isn't in the cells center but at a 3D place which represents the surface best.

Edit: Sorry, there was a mistake saying that "120/250=0.12". The red values are corrected now - Thanks, Erhardt!
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm


Return to Shape Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron