Dear DAVID Community,

In 2016, DAVID and this forum have been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum has been read-only since then, and will be switched off by then end of 2019.

To everyone who has contributed here, we thank you for all your work and for the constructive, helpful and friendly atmosphere you have created!
Please continue to discuss on the HP Support Forums.

scan alignment failed

The place for all topics related to the 'Shapefusion' tool of DAVID.

scan alignment failed

Postby AIMED » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:24 am

Hi Guys
I scanned a part for a customer. I put clay on two places to align it quickly, but I am tired to align and its always give me wrong results. I cant understand how u guys scan big parts and align all those properly. Please help

Image
Logitech QuickCAM Pro 9000
Toshiba Satellite, 4GB RAM, 1GB AMD display
Panasonic Projector (model unknown)
AIMED
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Islamabad

Re: scan alignment failed

Postby AIMED » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:26 am

If I can activate portion of scan so it could align easily. But activation of portions are not available in David. Any suggestions plz.
Logitech QuickCAM Pro 9000
Toshiba Satellite, 4GB RAM, 1GB AMD display
Panasonic Projector (model unknown)
AIMED
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Islamabad

Re: scan alignment failed

Postby MagWeb » Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:19 pm

Hi,

if there are equal topologies on mesh A and B DAVID searches for the biggest overlap. That might ignore topological details.

A possible solution to align A to B:

- Duplicate A (RMB on the list) to A(1) and A(2)
- Erase all but the topology details on A(2)
- Align A(2) to B
- Align A(1) to A(2)
- Delete A(2)

This is a workaround for a missing "area of interest" feature

Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: scan alignment failed

Postby Christian_Mendez » Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:57 pm

... Or try it the hard way ;

- Open the Advanced Setting and increase the Fine Registration value (I raised it up to 20000!)

-Manually align the scans as close as you can (really close! )

-Fine Register pairwise ! And repeat this a few times until there is no more visible improvement.

It may not be the best and fastest method but it will give you a good practice and given enough time you'll be gathering enough experience to face similar situation s.

Cheers,
Christian
www.greyscale3di.com "if it ain´t movin´, we can scan it!"
Christian_Mendez
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:45 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: scan alignment failed

Postby AIMED » Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:46 am

Bundle of thanx Guys
Some times we need to think out of the box and some times I forget that.
Logitech QuickCAM Pro 9000
Toshiba Satellite, 4GB RAM, 1GB AMD display
Panasonic Projector (model unknown)
AIMED
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Islamabad


Return to Shape Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron