Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

The place for all topics related to the 'Shapefusion' tool of DAVID.

Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby micr0 » Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:47 am

I have a project with 54 "quality" scans of a fairly complex engine castings. I've cleaned them up, aligned etc. but I can't seem to fuse them. If I try to fuse 20 or more scans David starts then the red progress bar goes away and nothing happens. It still says that it's fusing the scans at the bottom left of the window but it isn't working and the other buttons and menus are selectable again. Has anyone had this problem? I'm running this on a dell workstation running win 7 64 with 8gig of ram. I'm suspecting a memory problem but I've fused meshes with a larger number of scans than this before. Any one have any ideas?


µ
µ
micr0
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby micr0 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:11 pm

Bump.

Plus some additional info. first I'm trying to fuse at 1000 with the sharpness set to 3. second, after some experimentation I have been able to fuse up to 50 of the scans but not all 54. I can get 50 to work if I reboot and have no other applications open, load the project and do nothing else but run fusion. However it is not consistent. All that said, I have to assume that I'm running out of system memory. I will try doing the fusion on another system and see what happens. If anyone has any suggestions for settings for better memory management I'd appreciate it. I feel my system should be able to handle this task though.



µ
µ
micr0
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby Vito » Sat May 30, 2015 10:06 am

Hello,
The same is happening to me now, but never did it before. I had crashes while fusing, but never this weird "aborted fusion" issue...
Vito
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:34 am

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby Vito » Sat May 30, 2015 11:04 am

I unistalled david and re-installed. Now it is not doing it...
Vito
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:34 am

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby conceptdsn » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:47 pm

I have 128gig yes gig of ram. i have 4 2tb ssd drives. and finally an i7- multi core processer. I get 50 scans and at around 52 total crash. i loose the entire file even though i save after about every 5 scans. i have reinstalled the software and it still does the same thing.
this is a huge issue for me.
Camera's: Canon eos t3i, 2x c615 webcams
150 mm calibration panel commonly used
acer k135 Projector/ infocus trial projector
Process computer: i7- 8 core processor, 128g ram, nvidia 6000

www.conceptdsn.com
conceptdsn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:10 am

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby drndadoo » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:40 am

can you tell us please which version of Windows and DAVID you have, so we can try to recreate the problem?
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby WP2016 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:04 am

Hello, I have the same problem :) 32G RAM, only used up about 10G during processing.

Version: 4.5.3, build 1374.

It kept quitting and I thought it was random (tried 5 times, adjusted 1000-700 once, all ended with a warning window).

Any update would be helpful.

Best regards.
Projector: Acer K132 + 1/2/4/10 X closeup dai. 52 mm.
Camera: Grasshopper 3 GS3-U3-28S4C-C (@ 1600 X 1200, 30 fps); Lens: 8-50 mm F/1.4.
Computer: USB 3.0, CPU: 2.6-3.5 GHz, GPU: 3G NVidia 970M, 32G RAM.
User avatar
WP2016
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:54 pm
Location: TX, USA

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby conceptdsn » Sun Oct 16, 2016 6:41 pm

drndadoo wrote:can you tell us please which version of Windows and DAVID you have, so we can try to recreate the problem?


ver 4.5.3 1374
Camera's: Canon eos t3i, 2x c615 webcams
150 mm calibration panel commonly used
acer k135 Projector/ infocus trial projector
Process computer: i7- 8 core processor, 128g ram, nvidia 6000

www.conceptdsn.com
conceptdsn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:10 am

Re: Fusion in David4 quitting. Too many scans?

Postby drndadoo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:50 am

How many scans do you have? Try to fuse single scans, maybe one of them have error, also try to fuse them without texture, just for the test.
drndadoo
DAVID Support
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:09 pm


Return to Shape Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron