Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

will not calibrate

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

will not calibrate

Postby cammitchell » Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:35 am

very new here... so new I've not even been able to calibrate the camera yet.

What I get is a pop up that tells me, wrong dot count?

Please help.

Thank you.
cammitchell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:50 am

Re: will not calibrate

Postby RAYA » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:16 am

Hi

It is better to explain your problem with more detail (hardware,windows,...).

Raya
User avatar
RAYA
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:40 am

Re: will not calibrate

Postby MagWeb » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:28 am

Hi, welcome

Wrong number of markers means, DAVID detects some (or more) wrong thing(s) in the campicture as marker(s).

possible reasons:
- wrong camsettings: You need a high contrasted picture of black dots on white. Maybe you´ve to add some light?
- something dark in your setupconstruction (hinges, screws or something else) is detected as a marker : mask it with the mask-tab tool
- your cam sees something outside your corner: move your cam towards the corner. The corner has to fill the campicture totally.

hope that helps
Gunter
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Postby hal » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:32 am

Hello and Welcome cammitchell,

If David can't calibrate, the problems can be:
- Your camera/webcam read less or more markers, because your camera settings are wrong;
- Your calibration panels are wrong (something on they that appear dark or similar to the markers);
- In your video view there are something other further the markers (backgound, objects, shadows, ...).

Please, check this Wiki page for the right setting of your camera and calibration pattenrs: http://www.david-laserscanner.com/wiki/ ... ng_started .
You must have a clean and contrasted image, in which there are visible ONLY the markers. If is impossible to set correctly the camera adjustment, try with the "Eraser" tool (in the Camera Calibration window, the middle menu in the lower part). In this way you can "paint" a mask directly ON the camera view areas that have a dark colors or can disturb the calibration process (a quick way to do this: go in the Eraser menu, click "Mask All" and then, with the right mouse button clean ONLY the areas where are the markers).
Remember to set correctly your Scale value, too.

Mattia

@ Raya and MagWeb: Gulp! we are in the same time in the same (web) place, writing the same things... Sorry for my double answer, but when I start to write, there weren't any answers to this topic. Sorry.
PC: DELL Alienware 17, Intel I7-4710MQ, 32 Gb Ram, AMD Radeon R9 M290X 4GB.
SO: Win 8.1 64Bit.
CAMs: USB 3.0 CMOS B/N (1280x960, 60 fps).
LENS: 12 mm.
PROJECTOR: DAVID SLS1 ACER K11.
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re: will not calibrate

Postby cammitchell » Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:28 pm

I have reaad it all... and I'm still having no luck.
I tried all that you have sugjested and I still get this error pop-up
"wrong number of white point lables"
Its running on XP with a cheep web cam.

Running out of ideas.

Thanks for the replys.
cam
cammitchell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:50 am

Re: will not calibrate

Postby WalterMo » Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:43 pm

Hi,
Simply try to calibrate in the Manual Mode with the right mouse button.
You know where you have to start? If not, please ask.

Walter
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: will not calibrate

Postby RAYA » Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:58 pm

Hi

Try more light on panels.

Raya
User avatar
RAYA
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:40 am

Re: will not calibrate

Postby cammitchell » Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:59 pm

OK I got that to work!
Used the manual mode.
Thank you!

On to step two.
cammitchell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:50 am


Return to Camera Calibration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron