Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby 3Der » Fri Aug 01, 2014 11:18 pm

Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

I'm running the 32bit free version
Canon 7D connected via USB directly connected to David
acer K132
Win 7 64bit via VMWare fusion 5 on a Macbook Pro

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
3Der
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:17 pm

Re: Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby MagWeb » Sat Aug 02, 2014 12:09 am

Hmm, your printouts seem to be fixed pretty wavy. The calibration target has to fit to a virtual model and a virtual model, in most cases, is pretty accurate.

I prefer to run DAVID on my MAC on a WIN installation via Bootcamp - but maybe that's not the problem.
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby 3Der » Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:03 am

So perhaps recreate the cal panels?
3Der
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:17 pm

Re: Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby MayCrown » Sat Aug 02, 2014 6:05 am

Projector should enlighten just the dots and not beyond. Camera should not see beyond the dots. In fact, if the camera can see all the 6 markers and a few dots around it, you can still calibrate.
http://www.shapeways.com/shops/MayCrown
User avatar
MayCrown
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:49 pm

Re: Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby hunkatibor2 » Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:06 am

Hi 3Der
My experience as a calibration point the panel! If you are not 90 degrees can not be calibrated. Many test confirms this. The frequency of car pick out of favor not selected.
Tibor
http://forum.david-3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=6189
Last edited by hunkatibor2 on Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Intel Xeon E5410 2.33GHZ 16GB RAM Windows 7 64bit David 4.5.0
2 Basler A622F camera 2 Tamron Asfirical AF 28-80mm lense
LG DLP Projector PF1500G Canon D40 Tokina 17-70mm 1:2.8-4,5
Humanti Calibration panel system and Alignmed&Two camera
hunkatibor2
 
Posts: 1408
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:26 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Any Idea why I'm getting an error?

Postby hal » Sun Aug 03, 2014 10:11 am

Hello 3Der,
as MagWeb wrote, the first thing to fix is the sheet with the dots. Looks too much weavy. so:
- make the calibration panels perfectly at 90°;
- be sure the sheet/s with amrkers are perfectly flat;
- decrease a little the brightness of the projector in order to see better, in the camera, the projected sines (now are barely good, maybe only the white stripes looks a little too much bright).

If still don't work, please move the camera or the projector in other positions and try again. In the first attempts, make the angle between camera and projector at least = or > of 30°.

Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.


Return to Camera Calibration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron