Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

How to calibrate with a picture

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

How to calibrate with a picture

Postby AIMED » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:33 pm

Hi Guys
Once I read that we can calibrate the camera with image. But I dont know how. I would like to know how to do that?
Logitech QuickCAM Pro 9000
Toshiba Satellite, 4GB RAM, 1GB AMD display
Panasonic Projector (model unknown)
AIMED
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:12 pm
Location: Islamabad

Postby hal » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:50 pm

Hello,
take a shot of the calibration markers and of the patterns.
Then, load them into Setup Type field > Camera > Image grabber.

Best regards,
Mattia
PC: DELL Alienware 17, Intel I7-4710MQ, 32 Gb Ram, AMD Radeon R9 M290X 4GB.
SO: Win 8.1 64Bit.
CAMs: USB 3.0 CMOS B/N (1280x960, 60 fps).
LENS: 12 mm.
PROJECTOR: DAVID SLS1 ACER K11.
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.

Re:

Postby fusionpt » Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:50 am

hal wrote:Hello,
take a shot of the calibration markers and of the patterns.
Then, load them into Setup Type field > Camera > Image grabber.

Best regards,
Mattia



Hello everyone

I need to have a hi res texture in the final model for offset printing, big sizes...like 7000px, 6000px... and i´ve been learning about david and found myself building a turntable for 360 3D models extract.
Quaestion/doubt is how to get a high res texture for each scan i make in order to have this high res texture in the final model...

When you say markers and calibration patterns, i can do video and save the calibration, them i can load 1 picture with hi res and david generates 3d model?
Or, i have to repeat also calibration patterns plus picture?
Does david has a way to hit one final picture to grab texture in photo mode?
I´m make some tests with canon 600D as cameras and a optoma video projector (medium/good one)

Thanks in advance
fusionpt
www.asm.pt
turntable - david - canon 600D - SL
fusionpt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:46 pm
Location: Portugal

Postby hal » Mon May 04, 2015 11:30 am

Hello,
sorry for the late reply.
To calibrate the scanner, you don't need the video (calibrate the camera). An image is enough.
Then David don't convert the image in to 3D points. In order to scan, David need videos: video of a laser line above the object and panels or video of the SL patterns projected on the subject and panels.

Mattia
User avatar
hal
Moderator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Cavaria con Premezzo (VA), Italy.


Return to Camera Calibration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron