Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Error on calibration

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

Error on calibration

Postby rene1981 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:22 pm

Hello,

I've got 2 problems with my David Scanner:

1. Wenn I try to calibrate, only at the 120 mm, then I get the message:
- Not enough "points" scanned.

So, I decide to scan the whole board.
2. The next messages appear:
Error:
- Exposure time set too high
- Camera disconnected
- External trigger selected, but not running

What can I do to solve this problem? So I can calibrate my camera / scanner?


Do you need more info to help me?
Ask it and I try to put it in.

Thanks!

Gr. René
rene1981
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:38 pm

Re: Error on calibration

Postby WalterMo » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:09 am

Hi,

To point 1)
Have a look to this manual:
http://wiki.david-3d.com/david3_user_ma ... alibration

It's important that minimum the 6 rings are visible for the camera. If it doesn't work so post a screen dump of the camera image.

To point 2)
What camera are you using? A triggerable one?

Walter
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Error on calibration

Postby rene1981 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:07 pm

Hello,

thanks for your answer.
I made some printscreens. See the attachements.
Thats all I saw.

What do you mean by a triggerable camera?

Gr. René
Attachments
before calibration.jpg
after clicking on calibration 1.jpg
after clicking on calibration 2.jpg
rene1981
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:38 pm

Re: Error on calibration

Postby MagWeb » Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:13 pm

Hmm, make sure to set David to render its projection on the second monitor (which should be the projector). See SreenID in HardwareSetup/Projector: There should be a "2"

BTW: Alt+F14 (maybe called "Print" on your keyboard) captures the active window only. F14(Print) captures the whole workspace - Just a hint :wink:
MagWeb
Moderator
 
Posts: 2499
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: Error on calibration

Postby rene1981 » Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:48 am

Sorry for my late respons.
I've contacted my seller, and I know what I did wrong.
I didn't put the camera on the board...

Thanks for help!

Gr. René
rene1981
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:38 pm

Re: Error on calibration

Postby Liudmila » Fri May 23, 2014 7:26 am

Hello,

could you please help me.

I try to do calibration and always have an error " unsuccessful calibration"

Could you please advice.

Thank you!
Attachments
2.png
such picture I have with my camera
Liudmila
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 12:30 pm

Re: Error on calibration

Postby WalterMo » Fri May 23, 2014 9:34 am

You are using the old calibration pattern. And this is very „sensitive“ regarding exact settings. That means all 20 dots, the 4 rings and the double ring must be visible for the camera. Choose the image section in a way that nothing else as both corner walls is visible. No objects beside the corner!
And the vertical edge between both walls must be white. During the calibration DAVID sets green (or red, if failed) marks (X) onto the detected dots and rings. You can see where they are missing or set at wrong places.

Best is you change to the new V3 pattern. It's much more „robust“. Here you can choose the image section rather free: Only the 6 rings must be minimal visible for the camera. V3 pattern will only work if you are using DAVID version 3.x.

Of course during the calibration process both kinds of corner must be empty, remove the scan object.

Edit: The lower rim of the right wall seems to be not flat. But this is absolutely necessary for a good scan if you later on stitch the single scans together for one object! And put the scan object higher in the center of the corner. Don't start with a glossy dark object.
User avatar
WalterMo
Moderator
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 6:52 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany


Return to Camera Calibration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests