Dear DAVID Community,

As you are probably aware, the entire DAVID company, team and product range has been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum is now read-only. Relevant content has been migrated to HP and merged into HP's Support Forums on November 1, 2016.

To start new discussions for 3D Scanning, please register and post your new topic at the HP Support Forums

Calibration Calculator "Calibcalc"

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

Calibration Calculator "Calibcalc"

Postby MagWeb » Tue Jan 15, 2008 11:23 pm

Hello Davidians,

I created a little tool to modify the calibpoints.dat file to use DAVID to scan with a windowsetup. It's nothing more than a crutch...
Note: If you use to scan with the normal setup (closed corner), as described in the official manual, you do not need this tool!
(decent note: For I am no developer: There may be more elegant, slighter solutions....but it does its job)

The EXE alters the values of the calibpoints according to:
Square root ((C*60/S)*(C*60/S)/2)+normal values

So its basic assumptions are:
-THE PATTERNS HAVE TO BE FIXED WITH THE PATTERN'S FOLDINGLINE (normal XZ-origin) RIGHT ON THE INNER EDGES OF THE TWO WINDOWWINGS
and
-LEFT AND RIGHT PATTERN AT THE SAME HEIGHT IN Y

Installation:

1.Unzip
2. Possibilities :
-Copy the two files (*.exe and*.rtf) in your DAVID folder: The calibpoints.dat DAVID refers to will be altered automatic if you click “save calibpoints”;
or
-Copy the two files to another folder. The *.exe will create a calibpoints.dat in this folder. You may replace the one in DAVID with it by hand.
....Done

Usage:

-Run calibcalc.exe before starting DAVID
-The tool starts with the normal values of windowwidth C (zero), scale S (60) and patternboard P (zero)... (So if you click now: 1.“update preview” AND then 2.“save Calibpoints” : You create a calibpoints.dat with DAVID's standard values)
-Put in the measures of your windowsetup C (windowwidth) and S (scale)