Dear DAVID Community,

In 2016, DAVID and this forum have been integrated into HP Inc.
This forum has been read-only since then, and will be switched off by then end of 2019.

To everyone who has contributed here, we thank you for all your work and for the constructive, helpful and friendly atmosphere you have created!
Please continue to discuss on the HP Support Forums.

what about Digital Camera ?

The place for questions, problems, comments and tips regarding the camera calibration.

what about Digital Camera ?

Postby naxos » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:07 pm

Hello, i'm new to DAVID scanner...

i've bought the starter kit to get ease to start...

but i also have a sony 180i video camera, and better a canon 5d markII photo camera that can film in fullHD...
more than resolution, this camera is good because i have full control for diaph, exposure, lenses, focus etc...

i also have a compact camera that can film at 210 fps...

So can you tell me what should be the best ?

High res, camera, with witch lens (i can go from 8mm 180° fisheye to 300mm zoom)

fast camera (sfilm first the laser scan, then use the video at low speed to get the laser sloooowly scanning...
this camera at 210 fps is 480 pixels resolution...

??
naxos

Postby hal » Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:56 am

Hello naxos,

Hey, seems that you have "hard stuff" out there!
If I can, I suggest to:

- use the 210 fps camera and try to record a video of a fast movement (obviously after calibration) of the laser, moved by hand, on the object (you can be the first user that use David with a fast camera and your results could be very interesting);
- use the HD photo camera with projector David Structured Light and take one shot for every projected pattern.

But I think that a good experimentation with the 210 fsp camera can start a good "table of experimentation" for David. And 480 px are enough to get nice results.

I'm very curious to see some results,
Thank you very much,
Mattia
hal

Re: what about Digital Camera ?